Measuring Progress on My Journey


P1010359

Winter Walking Path – Photo by Leah Schroeder

I can be hard on myself.  I feel a sense of dissatisfaction with where my life is at, mostly with respect to my career path.  I have this knowing that there is something bigger that I am supposed to be doing with my life and yet I am where I am.  I recognise it is where I choose to be at the moment, and there is a purpose being served in being in this place, but I am impatient.

I have had several conversations with Vicki, one of the co-writers of this blog, about my Reiki Practise and feeling like I need to create more space for that part of my life.  This is one of the areas where I lose patience.  She reminded me to keep myself open to sending Reiki whenever there is an opportunity to serve in that way without necessarily receiving something directly in return.  Sometimes giving to one person may come back in some other form from someone completely unrelated.   I have become more conscious of taking a few minutes to send Reiki to someone when I see a request for prayer or for someone needing some healing energy when they or a loved one are facing some health issue or challenge in their life.  This has come back to me from others when I have needed it as well.  Sometimes people show up out of the blue, requesting Reiki or ThetaHealing®.

My partner and I had a conversation recently with a friend of ours about whether or not we were being the people we had inside us to be.  My partner said to me, that he couldn’t speak about other areas of my life, but something had happened a couple days prior that meant so much to him and was an example of the gift I was in his life.  What determines whether or not I am living my life with purpose and meaning is not how hard I work or the size of my paycheque.  The things I do in my day to day life to show kindness and compassion or to honour another person might not seem to be anything significant.  What my partner helped me to realize is that those small actions might be huge and life changing for the other person as it was for him.  So in this way, I am living with purpose and creating a meaningful experience.

This made me think about the work I do.  I wear many hats.  One of my roles is to provide administrative support to a small family run business.  It is not where I want to be long term, but it serves a purpose in my life at the moment.  What I have come to realize is my being there at this point in time is a gift to the people I work for.  Their brother is ill and they are running his company as well as their own.  On top of that is all the emotion of having a close family member challenged with a serious health issue.  My being there helps to lighten their load and minimize their stress.    My brother had emergency surgery the day before their brother had surgery, so we have some common ground that creates opportunity for understanding and compassion for each other.

So through these different experiences, I am learning to create a new way of measuring where I am at on my journey.  I open myself up to the opportunity to create connections that create transformation in my life and in turn, create opportunities for transformation in others.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner and Certified ThetaHealer® www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 16 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and now ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is an Energy Healer and Holistic Practitioner trained as a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforceholisticservices.com. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been the place I call home. I now live in Ladysmith, British Columbia. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to down the path of energy healing. I have a desire to collaborate with others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “Measuring Progress on My Journey

  1. Pingback: Touch therapy or RaikeyFind Me A Cure | Find Me A Cure

  2. you and I are going through similar struggles right now. I totally get the difficulty of being patient. I’m working on it. In the meantime it is VERY important to find bliss and satisfaction with the smaller successes too. They are not as easy to recognize at first but absolutely just as important as the bigger plans we have for ourselves later on

Leave a comment