Welcome to Heaven


My beliefs have gone through many changes during the course of my lifetime.

In this current life, I was baptized into the Catholic religion. I was taught that if we were bad we went to Hell. If we were good we went to Heaven…after a stop off into purgatory to suffer for the sins we committed but were already forgiven for because of saying 10 Hail Mary’s, 10 Our Father’s, and one Act of Contrition…before entering the pearly gates. It was all very confusing to me, but that was someone else’s truth that I was told to believe.

When I got older and started to think for myself, I found that I just didn’t understand why God would only give us one shot to get it right. When I misbehaved as a child my parents punished me, but I didn’t spend the rest of the day in punishment. I had paid the price for being bad, and I was forgiven. When I was good, I didn’t get candy and pats on the back the whole day either.

Reincarnation just felt better in my gut.

I came to believe that we get to keep coming back until we get it right, and I still do, but because of my current belief system I have modified it just a bit.

I believe now that our souls come to Earth to have experiences and to feel the wide range of emotions connected with those experiences. I believe we come here to learn about love and joy through those experiences, and each lifetime we learn just a little bit more. It’s just like going through each grade in school. Some of us are in Elementary School, some are in Middle School, some are in High School, some are in College, and there are even some souls who have graduated and are now helping the rest of us with our studies.

I also believe that experiences come our way through our emotional reactions. The Law of Attraction says we get what we focus on, so learning to be mindful about how I react emotionally to the experiences in my current life is very important to me.

I decided to reincarnate a short story I wrote last year to portray this belief.  I hope you re-enjoy it.

Welcome to Heaven

God, the Father watches us all everywhere.

God, the Father watches us all everywhere. (Photo credit: angelofsweetbitter2009)

One moment in timelessness, the Soul decided to add the experience of life on Earth into its immortal journey. It was born a princess, with every opportunity and blessing imaginable.

When it was time for the Soul to go back to Heaven, God asked, “How did you enjoy your life experience?”

“Oh, God,” the Soul answered. “It was awful. I was so bored. I didn’t have anything to do because everything was done for me! It wasn’t any fun at all!” God sent it back.

When it returned to enter Heaven the second time, God asked the Soul if it was more fun this time.

The Soul frowned. “Oh, God,” it said. “This time wasn’t any fun either. I was born a farmer’s wife with three children to take care of on top of everything else. I had so much to do that I barely had any time to even sit down!” God sent it back.

When the time came once again, God asked the Soul about its experience. “Well, God,” it replied. “It started out OK  At first I was rich and successful, with many friends and a beautiful wife. Then I was in an accident and was paralyzed from the waist down. I lost many of my friends, my wife divorced me because we couldn’t have children, and I lived the rest of my life in a wheelchair, alone.” God sent it back.

The next time the Soul approached Heaven, God saw a smile on its face and a tear in its eye.

“How was your visit?” asked God. The Soul answered, “Oh, God, it was wonderful. At first, I was very shy and didn’t have many friends. Then I met another soul who taught me that in order to have a friend, one must first be a friend. I chose to look past my fear and let the love in my heart guide me. I met my life partner while volunteering at a shelter for souls with physical disabilities, and we had three beautiful children. It was a lot of work, but I felt blessed to be a part of so many lives.”

And God said, “Welcome to Heaven.”

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

10 thoughts on “Welcome to Heaven

    • I’m so grateful to know that I was able to make the message I was trying to convey understandable! I was really fearful of that, but chose to move past the fear and post it anyway. Thank you for letting me know, Vicki 🙂

  1. I loved this Laura, thank you for sharing. We do get so tangled up in identity and entitlement don’t we? There is a passage in an Indigo Girls song “Galileo” that says “If we wait for the time til all souls get it right then at least I know there’ll be no nuclear annihialation in my lifetime. I’m still not right.” Works in progress, and lessons to be learned. Not always easy stuff to swallow but it does seem to work out in the end 🙂

  2. As I read through this post again, it hit me on another whole level..not that my perception was different per se, just deeper I guess. It brought tears to my eyes.
    Excellent post!

Leave a Reply

