Welcoming The Light


Welcoming the Light - Photo by Leah Schroeder

Sunrise – Photo by Leah Schroeder

It is the beginning of the Winter Solstice and a new moon. Where I live, it is a grey day outside and fairly mild weather for this time of year.  I feel drawn to write today.  It has been an intense time these past few months with a lot of different things holding my attention, and it is the perfect day to be in a space of contemplation and solitude.

There is balance with the movement between day and night, light and dark, the sun and the moon, the masculine and the feminine.  With the shifting of the seasons, there is always balance or a movement towards balance of light and dark.  So, as we experience the longest night to mark the beginning of the Winter Solstice, we are moving towards the Spring Equinox where night and day will be equal.  It is good to honour both the light and the dark within ourselves as well.  Being too much in the dark or too much in the light throws us out of balance.  There is strength and power in the balance between the light and dark with all of creation as within.  Ego throws us out of balance and Spirit or Love always brings us back.

With this new moon being in alignment with the Winter Solstice, it is a good time to reflect on what in our lives no longer serves us.  What is it we need to release at this time; anger, resentments, pain, judgement?  It is a time to let go and invite in and open ourselves to receive the love and abundance of the universe and to know that we are one with the universe and with that abundance.

The message in the Advent service I attended this morning was about transformation.   There was an acknowledgement of the fear that sometimes holds us back from allowing that transformation to happen.  It reminded me to look back over the year I have had and recognize the great transformation that has happened in my life over this time.  I am deeply grateful for all the teachers that have showed up to assist me at this time.  I am aware of moments where I have held back from that transformation; from stepping into my own light – a fear of being seen.  I am grateful for the learning opportunities, the recognition that I was holding back and the trust to let go of that.

This has been a year of constant change and transformation.  I have done my best to live more in the moment, not planning more than a few months in advance.  There has been a lot of freedom in that, and I admit at times, uncertainty.  I have learned to trust in the abundance of the universe and trust that everything works out when I let go.  I am learning to observe what lessons need to be learned when I feel resistance.  I always seem to find my way back to the word “surrender”.

I am reminded of a Shamanic Journey I experienced a few months ago.  I was sitting beside a pond of water, and in my journey, entered into that water to see where it came from.  I found myself travelling with a flowing stream.  I became the water, flowing deep into the earth, coming up through a hole of light, down a waterfall, and through someone’s body as that water was consumed.  I remember hearing the words “Be like water”.  I was also told that water is the life force and blood of the earth.  It is the heartbeat of the earth.  So if I am like water I am also that life force, that blood of the earth.

To surrender for me, means to flow like water, trust and allow.  There is an ebb and flow to life as in the changing seasons and the flow of light and dark.  I remember this as I center myself today.  I have spent time in meditation and will continue to throughout the day.  I am taking a moment to write down what needs to be released from my life and will burn it with a smudge of sage, cedar and sweetgrass.  I allow Spirit to carry the ash of what is to be released away with the wind.

So today I acknowledge the darkness and invite in and welcome the light. I open myself to possibility and step into and embrace my light as I move into a new season and new phase of my life.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Oneness, Spirit and tagged , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “Welcoming The Light

  1. I have been watching with great interest as the moon accepts the approaching darkness with what for me a is a sense of acceptance , equanimity, and ultimately surrender. I had not considered the new moon being in alignment with the Solstice. For me alignment carries with it the possibility of intention and empowerment, some how cradled in a deep wisdom that manifest only periodically. There are complex levels of darkness afoot this season, so it is with deep humility and gratitude that I accept the alignment of the darkest solstice time and surrender to a wisdom beyond me. I will sit in and with the darkness and its water rich air tonight . I will sit differently tonight. I will journey deeper and wait upon the the lights return. So it is.

Leave a Reply

