A New Song


Photo by Leah Schroeder

Photo by Leah Schroeder

The last few months, being back in Winnipeg after my summer in Sioux Narrows, Ontario, has brought about a flurry of activity.  I have been in a space of organizing, and creating the next phase of my life.  It has been challenging adjusting to the different energy of the city compared to the peace of the natural setting that was my home for three months.

I had a sense that this would be the case, so I pre-planned an outing to the sacred space of Bannock Point and the Petroforms.  It is a place that I continue to be drawn to and it was calling me back.  I have now been back to this sacred site a few times since my return to Winnipeg.

On this particular visit, early in September, I was introduced to the petroform of a creation story.  It is a depiction of a woman, Sky Woman, being lowered from the stars, pregnant with the first Red Nation male to walk this earth.  It was in a slightly out of the way place, away from the other petroforms and protected by the trees and terrain around it, and yet, it was meant to be found.  I placed an offering of tobacco and a coin, alongside other offerings left there, and said a brief prayer.

I headed to the Medicine Wheel, where I removed my sandals.  I walked slowly around the outside of the wheel.  At one entrance I noticed offerings of tobacco, coins and a variety of other objects.  Again, I said a prayer, offered tobacco and a coin and continued on to complete the walk around the circle.  I walked through one of the entrances to the Medicine Wheel, placed a circle of cedar around me, smudged with sage, sweetgrass and cedar and began a time of meditation. I placed my feet and hands directly on the rock beneath me.

As I do every time I come here, I knelt on the rock and held my forehead against it for a while, connecting my third eye with the energy of the earth.  I spent some time sending love and healing to the earth, holding my arms straight above me with my palms facing the sky.  Then continuing to hold my left arm up, I lowered my right arm with my right palm facing the earth.  I experienced a powerful wave of energy flowing through me.  I sent love and healing out as I repeated these motions in all four directions.

I took my time walking around the area, discovering petroforms I hadn’t seen before, enjoying the small discoveries of mushrooms, wild flowers, and berries.  I found a patch of wild blueberries and enjoyed a small snack.  I picked some kinnickinnik, bunch berries, rosehips and juniper berries.

I drove from this place to the waterfall, by the Womyn’s Gathering site.  I sounded my voice there as I had in the Spring.  This time, there was no need to yell or release any pain or anger.  All that came out was a sweet song from my heart; a gift to the water, the trees, and the elemental spirits of the forest, known as the Little People.

I have come a long way in a year, from experiencing the pain of having my heart cracked wide open a year ago and feeling deep grief, to learning to love myself, reclaiming my voice and finding my power.  I have awakened my passion and taken great leaps towards my soul’s calling.  I have come to a place of peace within.  This sacred place that keeps calling me home has also brought me home to myself.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

One thought on “A New Song

Leave a Reply

