As Summer Nears Its End


Photo by Leah Schroeder

Photo by Leah Schroeder

By the time this is posted, I will be back in the Winnipeg for the fall.  It is hard to imagine leaving this place, now that I have been here almost three months.  It has been my refuge, my healing place.  This has been a time for me to focus on self-care so that I am better equipped to assist others with their healing.

Before I chose to come to here, I felt a need to create some space to give some of the work that I feel called to do some time to gel.  That has been a positive choice for me as there are all kinds of opportunities and blessings flowing my way.

I still have more healing to do, but I am stronger, physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.  I feel more at peace with myself.  I have released anger, resentment and residual pain.  I still have people around me from time to time that attempt to pull me I to their drama, but I am getting better at removing myself from this fairly quickly.  I am learning to send them love and continue to hold a vibration of love and peace.  They show up to teach me.  I have met many women in the last few months that carry a lot of pain in their lives.  They are shifting, each at their own pace.  I send them love to hold them where ever they are at.

I have embraced connecting with the earth and water around me.  I am certain, throughout the fall and winter I will continue to be drawn to places outside the city where I can spend time connecting with nature.  I am less attached to the place that has been my home for the past seven years, or the city that has been my home for most of my life.

I have found great joy in walking barefoot in the grass, sending healing energy to the earth and receiving powerful healing energy from her in return.  I have had many opportunities to interact with the deer around me, watched turtles lay eggs, experienced an abundance of frogs and grasshoppers enjoying the yard around me, and watched dragonflies dance in the evening sky.  I have spent time embracing and celebrating the light of the full moon, watched in wonder as the night sky lit up with stars.  I have breathed in the fresh air, filled with the scent of pine and fir trees.  I have listened to the song of the wind in the trees and of crickets, frogs, loons, other birds, and water lapping against the shore.

I have replaced the fear of how my body reacts to the food I eat, with joy, gratitude, and pleasure.  It has given me a great deal of satisfaction to forage for wild edibles and add them to my diet.  I have more appreciation for and connection to where my food comes from.  I have learned what it feels like to really enjoy my food and understand how that impacts my body. I have observed the physical changes in my being as I have become more conscious of what I eat and of my physical activity.

To be clear, my focus has been on healing and returning to balance and not on my weight or appearance.  I love and accept myself as I am in whatever form or shape that is.  I have learned to see myself as a sacred woman and my body as the sacred vessel that holds my spirit.

What an amazing gift this summer has been!  I am deeply grateful.  It is soon coming to an end.  The weather is starting to shift.  The winds of change are blowing.  I surrender to the wind, to the flow of the river and to the voice of my soul calling me.  I have yet to understand the magnitude of what I have been preparing for or what lies ahead.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?
Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “As Summer Nears Its End

Leave a Reply

