Shaking Things Up


IMG_0790
A few weeks ago, the day I realized one of my sources of income had come to an end, I discovered an ad for a position that would take me a few hours east of Winnipeg to lake country, to Sioux Narrows, Ontario.  I applied for it on a whim, thinking a change of scenery would do me some good.

Here I am a few weeks later, sitting on the dock by the lake, clean air filled with the scent of fir, pine, birch and poplar.  Bird song fills the air.  As I sit here I watch a few eagles fly by.  There were some mallard ducks by the end of the dock when I came down, and I believe I am hearing the song of a loon.

On my trip out, a few miles from here, I saw a fox, swerved to miss a turtle crossing the road, and saw a deer.  I passed by cliffs of granite, lakes, more lakes, and forest.  The place that I will call home for the summer backs onto some forest area.  I already had a couple of deer come by to welcome me and saw another one in my yard this afternoon.  We visited a bit through my kitchen window.  They look a bit splotchy grey at the moment as they are still shedding their winter coat.

When the water warms up a bit more, I will make a habit of a daily swim in the lake.  Maybe I will find someone to teach me to kayak or someone to join me on a canoe ride once in a while.  I would love to explore the shorelines of the lakes in the area and find some of the waterfalls.

Aside from the fact that I have come to a place that is a little slice of heaven, why would I put almost everything else on hold to come out here?  I often have yearnings to get out of the city to feel connected with nature.  I have been craving a change of scenery.  Usually, I am drawn to a sacred site in the Whiteshell.  I will have my time there next week when the women gather.

I have a lot of beautiful things starting to brew with my healing practice.  I decided it would be healthy for me to allow some space for them to gel over the next few months.  It is also a good opportunity for me to do some self-care, to be in the best possible place by the fall for all of that to happen.  Other obligations seemed to have found a way of working themselves out.

It gets me away from distractions, so I can focus on healing, finish editing my book, so it will be ready for publishing shortly.  It breaks me away from what is routine, “the usual” for me.  I think it is good to shake things up a bit every now and then. It opens doors for new opportunities, self-discovery, and awakening.

This is a peaceful place to be.  I believe my work here at this resort will be at fairly relaxed pace.  Maybe opportunities to offer Reiki here will present themselves too.

As I sit here by the water, looking over the lake to take in the beauty I see in front of me, all I can say, is “How does it get any better than this?”

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent the last 17 years in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

Leave a Reply

