My Voice


At Manitou Ahbee - Where Creator Sits - Photo by Leah Schroeder

At Manitou Ahbee – Where Creator Sits – Photo by Leah Schroeder

Yesterday morning, I woke up knowing that I was being called by Spirit to take a road trip to Bannock Point.  The day before, during a Shamanic Retreat, I was reminded of my voice.  I was told about a bird, with a red throat.  The bird’s throat was swelling up, ready to explode, maybe with anger or some other emotions that needed to be released.  I was suppressing my feelings.  I have received messages before that I need to free my voice.  It was important for me find a way to let this out in order for me to move forward.

On the way home from this retreat, it was suggested a primal scream out in the open somewhere would be helpful, like the potato field we were driving past.  I kept driving.  I knew this suggestion was right, but I needed to find my own way to do this.

Yesterday morning, I packed up my car and drove an hour and a half to the place I knew I needed to be.  As I made my way closer to this sacred place, I could feel emotion welling up in my throat. I made note of the forested areas or fields I passed along the way.  I could stop there.  That would be a good place, but I knew I needed to keep going.  I drove to the bridge that is the entrance to the path to Tie Creek.  It is also by the site where the women will gather in a little over a month.

I prayed that no one would be at the Petroform site.  I needed to be on my own.  I was thankful there were no cars parked there as I drove by to my final destination.  There was a truck parked at the end of the road.  Someone must have taken an ATV out to Tie Creek.

I walked to the gathering site just to make sure no one was there.  I stood by the river and let out some sound from my voice.  It wasn’t what I really needed and I knew that, so I walked to the bridge over the waterfall.  The water was moving fast with the Spring run-off.  I saw some eagles circling overhead.

Once on the bridge, I offered tobacco into the river and asked Spirit for assistance with what I came here to do.  I made a sound and then I yelled.  I did it again and again, louder and longer each time, until my throat was fully open.  Tears ran down my face.  I stood there for a while, crying.  I thanked Spirit and the river and offered tobacco again.

I began to tone my heart song, louder and more open than ever before.  I freed that lump in my throat.  I freed my voice.  As this song was flowing out from my heart, I was aware of another voice singing along with mine.  I offered tobacco again.

I stood there for a little while and walked to the other side of the bridge where the water was calm.  When I was ready to leave, I thanked Spirit, walked back to my car and drove to the Petroform site.  No one else was there.  No human that is.  I was not alone.

I left an offering of tobacco on the rock entering into the site, where other offerings have been placed, asking for guidance and protection for my time there.  I walked towards the medicine wheel.  I was drawn to another rock on my way there.  I rested my hands to feel its energy and pray for guidance before carrying on.  A previous visitor had left behind an offering of a bracelet there.

When I entered the medicine wheel, I left an offering of tobacco again.  I spread some cedar on the rock around me.  I prepared a smudge of sweetgrass and sage.  I lit a candle.  I wrote out a list of all the emotions, beliefs and resentments I wanted to release in that moment.  I set them on fire with the light of the candle with a prayer to my guides and angels to carry them away.  The ashes of the paper spread apart and were carried off in different directions by the wind.

I sat there, on the open rock around the medicine wheel, with my bare feet receiving the energy of the granite they were resting on. I felt peace, calm and freedom.  Once again I noticed some large birds, likely eagles, circling above so high you could barely see them.  Even though it was daytime, the moon showed herself to me.  I felt loved and cared for knowing in that moment I was fully supported.  I have reclaimed my voice.

Spring at Dorothy Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park - Photo by Leah Schroeder

Spring at Dorothy Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park – Photo by Leah Schroeder

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:
Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent the last 17 years in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Credits, Emotions, Leah Schroeder, Spirit, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

5 thoughts on “My Voice

  1. I helped a rape victim reclaim her voice in such a way. She was told to not to scream while her step father had his hand over her mouth and deflowered her during a party at their home. Her voice had been muted ever since. We waled in the woods as she laughed and cried at the sound and power of her own voice. I love the sweat lodges and medicine wheels of the elders who lived on and with these lands for over ten thousand years. Their wisdom and energy is still here if we seek it….Thank you for reminding me of my own guidance and power. I hope to have a much bigger voice in this stifling society also.

    • Wow. Thank you for sharing this. So many women are beginning to rise up to reclaim their famine power, the sacred feminine. Sounding and reclaiming their voices is part of that process as it was/is for me. It is important for women to come together in support and to empower each other in this process.

Leave a Reply

