Emotional Triggers


Photo by Leah Schroeder

Photo by Leah Schroeder

Sometimes, you think you have dealt with something and moved past it, and then something happens to trigger emotions that are lying deep below the surface.  There is almost an unreasonable response to the event that triggers these feelings considering how far you have come and yet there it is.  It seems like a lot of people have stuff coming up in need of clearing and healing at this time.

In the last couple of weeks I have experienced this and have been completely unraveled by this set of circumstances.  I have allowed myself to feel my way through this, feeling pain, sometimes anger, and for a brief time, wondering where I belong in this world.  Reaching out to my close friends brings me some comfort and I feel supported and connected.

I realized I needed to spend some time healing these emotions that have come up.  I still have work to do to release judgement and to get past re-living this in my mind trying to figure out what went wrong.  Where did I fail and why wasn’t I enough?  I thought I had already healed and moved past these feelings. This trigger seems to have brought this to the surface to peel away and heal another layer.  I am enough.

I acknowledge the need to focus on all the good in the situation and what gifts I have received from this experience.  Gratitude.  I spend some time writing down all the things I am grateful for with respect to this relationship.

More connections with women follow, with shared experiences and feelings.  I am not alone.

Awareness of the energy of the Full Moon and the Lunar Eclipse, I acknowledge it is a time to let go of those things so I can move forward.  I celebrate the moon.  I meditate.  I set out water to be charged and healed by the moon.  Once the Full Moon is past, I say a blessing, and drink from this healing water. I meditate some more.

The day after the Lunar Eclipse, I pull out some Angel Blessing cards I use to set my focus for the day.  Often I only pull one card.  This morning I feel compelled to pull three.  They are all Angel Daniel cards about clearing judgements, which clearly tells me “Pay attention Leah!”  The blessing cards I pull are Forgiveness, Homecoming, and Kindness.

Forgiveness has to do with forgiving the other and more importantly myself.  Kindness, I believe, has to do with being kind to myself, honoring myself, letting go of judgement and allowing space for self-care and healing.  Homecoming, someone pointed out, has to do with coming back into union with one’s true self.  I have heard this message from other sources.  I believe this is a universal message for this time.

Today is a new day.  I have shifted into a new space and feel strong again.  I am okay.  I am connecting with many different people and finding community in different places.  Many people are experiencing these shifts at this time.  Let us hold each other in love and light as we support each other through all this change.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, ThetaHealing® and Integrated Energy Therapy® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 48 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent the last 17 years in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki ,  ThetaHealing®, and now IET®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Emotional Triggers

Leave a Reply

