Watching An Artist At Work


I watched an artist at work the other day. I was at home, looking out across the pond at the beginning whispers of sunset. Out of the corner of my eye I caught sight of a meaty looking spider, just beginning to build its web. Have any of you ever seen this?

I’ve seen them repair webs or catch my attention to one built nearly to completion, but I’ve never seen a spider start from the first threads, with its design obviously already in mind.The spider was on the other side of the screened porch so I was nearly eye to eye with it numerous times, but wasn’t feeling apprehensive. I suppose it would probably be classified as a medium- sized spider with thick brown legs, and it moved very quickly.

He started out dropping down in a free fall right in front of me. It caught my eye because I wondered what happened to it. Did it die suddenly? But once it had stopped in mid-air about hip level, it turned around and went back up the way it came.

The spider then seemed to dance with precision to the far left of where it started and then to the right, all the while stopping in the middle of the first thread and adding to it. The spider did this several times, creating the ambitious width of the web while also concentrating on a ball of thread in the very center. It looked like a miniature ball of white yarn.

Once it had the center well-defined it then dropped low again, this time not stopping until it reached a blade of grass on the ground. It did some work there as I realized it was anchoring the web to the ground. That’s when I became even more fascinated.
The spider went around and around the circumference of the area it had marked off with equal measure around the central knot. Its movements were even and purposeful and it seemed to take no notice of me staring at all.

As I stood there for several more minutes, I became simply dumbfounded at the beauty and dedication of the work I was witnessing. The spider seemed in complete control, going around the center point over and over, each time just a fraction of an inch away. I wondered if the spider was creative in making different webs, or if he always uses the same patterns. Is it better to always stay with what you know is safe and works, or to take a risk and often try something new to grow on?
And then I realized the full miracle of this observation. It isn’t just that this physical feat is impressive, or its amazing effectiveness in catching food. It isn’t even just about the beautiful visual design and how it captures rain drops and light glistening against it in the sun.

Look at the even more blatant spiritual lesson here.

The spider starts with a single thread and creates its central point and then anchors it off on the ground. Even spiders work on being centered and grounded! That’s how important it is! That is the kind of perseverance we need to remind ourselves to find our center and be grounded each day. With practice, the little stuff really does become nothing to sweat about, and everything really does work out the way it is supposed to.
There is a lesson in everything, we just need to be present to hear it.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

3 thoughts on “Watching An Artist At Work

  1. There is a book by BEAR&CO..written by SAMS&CARSON called MEDICINE CARDS…page 209 is a message just for you…as you witness the messages given by the spider; “weaving webs of delight, Weave me a peaceful world…Carrying Creation in your web..Waiting tone unfurled!….YOU WILL certainly relate to the spider’s weaving…
    briefly: Spider wove the web that brought humans the first picture of the alphabet.
    for Earth children to learn to make records of their progress in earth walk.
    The spider is the symbol for infinite possibilities..
    Spider weaves the webs of fate…similar to humans get caught in the web of illusion in the physical world…She is the female energy of the creative force that weaves the beautiful designs of life.
    check it out…it is a great book…and comes with a deck of cards…

  2. You really make it appear really easy along with your
    presentation however I find this topic to be really
    one thing that I feel I’d never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward to your subsequent post, I’ll
    try to get the cling of it!

Leave a Reply

