Entering into the Year of the Horse


Image courtesy of Tina Phillips / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Tina Phillips / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

January 31st, 2014.  Today is my 48th birthday.  It is also Chinese New Year – The Year of the Horse.  This is my year.  I have just been through and continue to be in the midst of great change.  What adventures lie ahead?

I am grateful for all the lessons of the past year to year and a half, and yet I am glad to be moving into a different phase of life.  I am not sure yet if a more peaceful time of stability is on the horizon, but I trust that whatever comes, I will be ready for it and it will be something even better than I can imagine.

This last month has been a time of sticking close to home and doing a lot of self-care.   It feels like it was something that has been imposed upon me and yet a friend suggested that maybe it was simply a challenge to spend some time looking after myself for a change.  With a cold virus that decided to stick around for a few weeks and brought me to ring in the New Year spending a few days on my couch, and a major skin irritation that my doctor believes to be eczema caused by some allergic reaction – to what I have yet to determine, I have certainly been challenged.

I have had the opportunity to explore various natural remedies for the cold virus, all of which helped to varying degrees.  Eventually the virus moved on.  While my immune system was busy with addressing the cold, the skin irritation developed on my upper body.  Some things I tried brought minor relief, while others, created more irritation. I spent some time doing Reiki and ThetaHealing® on myself.   I found some relief taking baths with a tea made with cedar, Labrador leaf and Wekay root (also known as Rat Root or Calamus Root) added to the water along with Himalayan salt, some aluminum free baking soda, and a few of my favourite essential oils.  It helped calm the irritation and was a good time for some meditation. In the end, some medical intervention was needed to give me enough relief to function more normally.

This process has certainly brought me to be aware of my physical self.  I have also explored the question, “What is it, on a subconscious level that is triggering these health challenges?”  It has provided a bit of a transitional break as I have let go of various aspects of my life and am shifting into the new.  Now, as I continue to heal, my focus has shifted more onto where do I go from here?

Last night, I chose to bring in this new phase of life – the evening of the Super New Moon and Chinese New Year’s Eve, attending a meditation, which I often do on Thursday evenings.  During the drumming part of the meditation, I chose to drift into a journey to visit with my power animals.  I received some helpful guidance during that time.  For the first time, I detached from the drumming and it took on a life of its own.  The intensity of the drumming in the room brought me back as this part of the meditation came to an end.

The next part of the meditation was the toning.  During this time, I felt a different energy around me.  It almost felt like someone was brushing from my head to my shoulders, my back and my arms with feathers.  Actually, it felt more like wings – of an angel.

This time was followed by playing of Crystal bowls and then silent meditation.  While the bowls were being played, there were some strange sounds.  A few people commented on this after.  To me it almost sounded like a few times someone was scratching some metal or something sharp against the bowls.  It was an uncomfortable sound.   There were other gifts from Spirit presented throughout the evening.

Every meditation is different and I leave this sacred space with different feelings.  Sometimes I leave with a feeling of incredible joy.  Other times something else has shifted within me creating a release of tears as I make my way home.  This was my experience last night.

The tears carried into this morning.  What a way to start my birthday!  It may be a combination of the shifting energy of this moment in time and within me, coupled with some hormonal shifts.  I was experiencing a moment of feeling somewhat disconnected from everyone in my life and feeling unsure of myself and the path I am on.

Spending time in a healing bath and a lot of time in meditation today – along with a few phone calls from people close to me has brought me back into feeling connected again.

I am stepping into the unknown.  It is important for me at this time to be open to the teachers that present themselves, but more importantly to really begin to trust, honour and pay attention to the voice within me.  I am shedding the old skin, the old story of who I am.   I have ideas of what the road ahead might look like, but I am honestly still in the process of awakening the gifts within me and finding my soul’s calling.  I am still finding my voice and haven’t quite discovered how best to use it.  Is it through writing?  Is it through healing work or teaching others?  Is there something else waiting to emerge?

I listened to a Webinar recently that talked about bringing together all the parts of your life that bring you joy and forming it into a business that is uniquely you and expresses the essence of who you are.  It is an intriguing concept that is still swimming around in my head and my heart and I am sure will for some time until it jells into something that fits for me.

And so a new year of my life begins.  Although there is uncertainty, I enter it in peace.  I move forward with anticipation of what great treasures I will discover along the way.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca .  “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent the last 17 years in Financial Services.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Life, Transition, Women and tagged , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “Entering into the Year of the Horse

  1. Leah, what a beautiful way to spend your birthday! It may not have seemed so as the process began but you who have been serving and helping others through their processes came full circle to honor yourself as you entered the day of your birth.

    I am sorry to learn that you have been ill but I you are making wise choices and I am sure you are coming out of this time stronger than when you began it.
    BTW: I really like the change in your bio. I place my hands over my heart and think of you…sending you love and support in your healing. tu amiga, Malana

    • Thank you Malana. I often think it would be really good for me to be in Honduras, in the warm, humid weather and spend some time on the beach so my skin can receive the healing warmth of the sun. :-). Love & Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

