Free Floating


Winter Wonderland - Photo by Leah Schroeder

Winter Wonderland – Photo by Leah Schroeder

Hello my friends. I have missed you. I have taken a few weeks break from writing and now I am here once again.

A new year has begun. I am in the beginning stages of a new era in my life. I let go of my financial services business at the end of December so I could focus more on my healing practice. I take small steps forward – sometimes leaps. Sometimes I take on offerings of administrative work in between. I am free floating, trusting that whatever I need will show up or is already here. As I feel guided to do so, I take the occasional course to expand on the healing modalities I currently work with and to learn new ones. I am cared for.

I feel a particular direction forming in the path ahead. There may be other forks in the road that lead me somewhere else but for now I trust this and step forward. A few months ago I received an invitation to provide Reiki to a group of women at a healing/self-care retreat. It was an amazing experience. A couple of the staff leading the group asked me to teach them Reiki. This past weekend I drove 2 1/2 hours north of Winnipeg, to their home town, to teach a Reiki class to 4 women. Again it was a beautiful experience. I am deeply honored to receive these invitations.

When stepping into something new, there are often challenges to overcome to move forward. A few years ago when I felt compelled to travel to Honduras, my dad was ill for a few months prior and was only released from the hospital a week before I was to leave for my trip. I was traveling alone, to a place I had never been to, and barely knew any Spanish. The calling to take this trip was greater than the fear of stepping out of my comfort zone. These moments create the greatest opportunity for self-discovery, personal growth and transformation.

I have experienced this in the last few months with working with this group of women. Once again, I felt a strong calling to enter into these experiences and it was my deepest desire to honor this invitation and the women I was being invited to work with, and offer what gifts I have to contribute to their journey to heal. I enter into this relationship humbly and respectfully, and with an openness to learn, share and connect and heal as well.

I felt Spirit testing me with traveling to these 2 events. In both cases, the winter weather challenged my faith and courage. I almost thought I would need to reschedule the course this last weekend. A last minute solution presented itself and I quickly packed up my car on Friday to head out of the city before the snow storm began. I was able to stay overnight at a healing center nearby and provide Reiki sessions Friday evening for a couple of the staff of the center.

In both situations, parts of the road I traveled were icy and the driving was slow. It was snowing and at times I had reduced visibility. I asked for guidance and protection and moved forward in trust that I would make it to my destination safely – and I did.

I think being challenged in this way and having the opportunity to overcome fear made both experiences that much more rewarding. It was a test of faith. It was a challenge to let go. It was a strong affirmation that I was supposed to be there. Especially with teaching the class this weekend, both the students and I were incredibly excited that we were able to share in this experience together. I have taught other types of classes before, but to participate in teaching and be a conduit in attuning others to Reiki is an incredibly beautiful and powerful spiritual experience.

We have created a beautiful connection and learned from each other. I am probably learning more from these events and from the women I am working with than they are learning from me. I am looking forward to going back in a month to teach the next level of Reiki. What lies beyond has yet to reveal itself. I am learning to move forward into the unknown and trust that there will continue to be solid ground beneath my feet as I take the next step.

In the midst of these experiences I have been learning to love and honor myself. I am on my own path to heal and be transformed. With every experience I gain more confidence in myself and the direction I am going. I am learning to detach from other’s projections of fear and trust my own inner knowing. I have a sense of and have been told that there is something much bigger in store for me. In this moment though, I choose to look to the smaller steps, and occasional leap, in front of me. I like the feeling of being able to free float for a while. I am breaking free of the expectations of the world around me to find my own way. I am on an adventure and living in excitement and wonder as to where I will land next.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, http://www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent the last 17 years in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is an Energy Healer and Holistic Practitioner trained as a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforceholisticservices.com. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been the place I call home. I now live in Ladysmith, British Columbia. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to down the path of energy healing. I have a desire to collaborate with others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “Free Floating

  1. The 9 months of ‘becoming’ while in the womb is also a free floating period. Freeing ourselves enough to allow spirit to move us always seems like a thrilling/frightening experience. I will always be grateful that you overcame the fear and traveled to Honduras. en abrazos de luz. tu amiga, Malana

Leave a comment