The Longest Night


A Winter Night - Photo by Leah Schroeder

A Winter Night – Photo by Leah Schroeder

Today, December 21st, 2013, is the beginning of the Winter Solstice, the longest night. Different cultures celebrate this time in different ways. Some light candles to invite back the light. Others acknowledge the darkness – the grief and sorrow that can accompany this time of year. It is also a time to acknowledge life transitions.

For me, this time has come with mixed emotions. I have spent a fair amount of time in solitude lately and feel that more deeply with many changes in how I celebrate with friends and family as relationships have changed and a few significant people are physically missing from the table.

This has been a year filled with a lot of change – my father passing away, and ending of a significant relationship, job changes, letting go of my financial services business. As we enter into this new season, I acknowledge the darkness, the sadness, the grief that still lingers. At the same time I am grateful for the release of things that no longer serve me and for the opportunity to create space for the new to enter in.

This morning, I participated in an Inka Winter Solstice ceremony (Capa Raymi). We spent 2 1/2 hours around a fire at -26 degrees Celsius, in a beautiful ceremony to welcome and honour the Sun. Each of us added our own personal offerings into a circle of items that were placed in the fire. We sang songs and danced around the fire. We honoured Creator and our connection to all things and acknowledged the importance of caring for all of Creation. It was a beautiful way to begin a new phase in my life.

I have entered into this new era; heart open, open to possibility, open to guidance of Spirit. I step into this new way of being with gratitude for the life lessons, experiences, and people that have helped to shape who I have become, assisting in my awakening as I continue forward on my journey.

I move forward in joy and excitement for the possibilities that lie ahead. I honour who I am in this moment, being present with every experience. In the midst of darkness, there is light and hope. It is a dance as the two play with each other.

As we move forward into this new season, let us acknowledge the dark places in our life, let go of what needs to be released, and welcome in the light.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 17 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

One thought on “The Longest Night

Leave a Reply

