Moving Into Transformative Joy


I was recently promoted at work and these last few weeks have been wonderfully packed with enthusiasm and challenges. I often struggle with trying to strike a good balance and keep my work at work. Being new to my position this has been exceedingly difficult and my partner has exasperatingly said “You need to be able to turn that off. You are working in your head all the time now.”

Finding that balance is so elusive in part because I feel like I have such diverse interests between my work life and my creative and spiritual pursuits, but I also know on deeper level it is absolutely all beautifully intertwined. Along with my practices in improving mindfulness and studying energy medicine, I have also been increasingly interested in shamanic studies.

 I recently attended an online workshop by Dr. Alberto Villoldo, who had Dr. Joe Dispenza as a special guest in the 4th session. According to Dr. Joe Dispenza, “We think approximately 60-70,000 thoughts per day.” If that statement wasn’t enough to at least temporarily stop me in my tracks, the next one was: “90% of those are actually repeats of the same thoughts we had yesterday.” He said we spend our whole life thinking similar thoughts, feeling similar emotions. That means we usually come from the same perspective and make the same choices day after day, month after month, year after year. This pattern of behavior continues until something drastic happens that facilitates transformation. This transformation is uncomfortable and probably has been known to contribute to the oft mentioned dark night of the soul, because it is within this transition that we then start to live in the unknown.

These ideas come from the spiritual mentors I have been following as well as the neurologists like Dr. Dispenza and Dr. Perlmutter. Over and over, the message I keep hearing is one that emphasizes this ability to change your life by changing your thoughts about it. You have the opportunity in the unknown to transform into someone else with NEW patterns, thoughts, emotions, and behavior. In getting beyond the ordinary; that is when you can transform into the extraordinary. This isn’t just speculative or anecdotal evidence. Dr. Dispenza states that your brain structurally and chemically changes and these changes can be evidenced by brain scans.

Feelings and emotions come from the past, and most of them actually stem from ancient history programming. Yet we identify with them so strongly we come to believe those feelings define who we are.  Emotions are made up from thought alone. So maybe we aren’t just what we eat, but more accurately, we are what we THINK. Elevated states of consciousness, when we fully appreciate our connectedness with all there is, can transmute us into states of ecstasy, which is actually our natural state of being. It is only our habitual thoughts, patterns and emotions that are actually part of the illusion.

Transformation is a matter of wholeness. It is not a discovery of who you are, but rather, a remembering of who you are. This is difficult because we are addicted to our stress levels, to our thought patterns. Persistent practice is needed to be able to live in the present moment, away from the emotional addiction and reconditioning the body, which also holds the memories. Every time we slip away to the problems of the past or worrying about the future, we have to pull the reins and pull ourselves back into the present. We push the reset button and we do this over and over and over until THAT behavior is the baseline, where we are comfortable.

Being present and paying attention in every present moment is what leads to joy. Now that we are in full swing of the Christmas season, and carols abound, let us remember THIS is how we sing joy to the world. This is how we bring peace on earth and goodwill toward men (and women)…This doesn’t just start from me to put forth for others, but being peaceful WITHIN ourselves. Learn it, practice it, and be an example of peace. That is the challenge I put forward to myself and for you dear readers.

 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. And on we grow.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

 

Leave a Reply

