My Fascination with Energy


For a long time now, I have been fascinated with energy.  I think it started with an awareness that I wasn’t attracting what I wanted into my life and always felt like I was struggling or stuck. My first light bulb moment was when I was introduced to Gary Zukav’s “Seat of the Soul”.  I heard him speak briefly on Oprah about how struggle can come out of our personality or ego and the choices we make can conflict with our Soul’s purpose.  He used the analogy of our soul being like the mother ship in the harbour and our personality/ego/actions being like the smaller boats or ships that follow in its wake.  If we are in alignment with our soul’s purpose, we move forward with ease, and almost get pulled forward, like the boats that follow in the wake of the mother ship.  If we are not in alignment, it is like the boats crossing the wake of the mother ship.  It takes a lot more effort and energy to move forward and sometimes we feel like we need to fight to stay afloat or feel like we are being thrown around in different directions.  This idea is similar to what I talked about in my post about “The River”. Energy vibrates at a frequency and can fall anywhere on an infinitely wide spectrum.  I understand it as such that a low vibration attracts more negative stuff and a higher vibration more positive.  I used to think of it in terms of light and darkness.  If you enter a dark space and light a match your eyes are automatically drawn to the light of the match.  If you are outside in the dark of night and a fire is lit, you are drawn to the light and warmth of the fire. If you are given a choice between the light of a match or a roaring fire, you will likely be drawn to the fire.  It could be said that its energy is vibrating at a higher frequency. This understanding was a starting point for me in learning about energy, and increasing my awareness of my own energy vibration.  In the past year or so, talking about energy has grown to a whole new level.  I remember early last April when I started to physically feel a current of energy in my hands and arms.  A woman I met one day shortly after this suggested I learn Reiki.  I had never considered that before, but was fascinated with that suggestion. The day I took my first Reiki course and received my first attunement was really a life changing experience for me on many levels.  The idea that I was receiving the gift that I would be able use this energy to facilitate deep healing in people was a really exciting possibility for me.  Being able to connect with people in this way is something I continue to be very excited about participating in. I continue to explore the power of energy and how it connects everything on the most basic level.  Understanding the bond we share with each other and every bit of life and matter that surrounds us is a very powerful concept.  It is the starting place for learning to honour each other and the planet we live on.  Please share your thoughts. Leah WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE? Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it: Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

3 thoughts on “My Fascination with Energy

  1. Funny (not really) how this was posted the day after my daughter went to our favorite health food store and received her very first experience with a Reiki practitioner. I have been telling her about it for a couple of years. She has the gift too, and now she understands what I have been talking about. I have always believed we were connected, but by observation only, and the fact that you have the ability to feel that connection is amazing. I am so grateful to those of you who are willing to share your gifts.

  2. Wonderful article Leah. To me, it only makes sense that if all is created from one source that all is connected. If we could see into this 4th dimension there would be energy webs that connect us to other humans, plants animals and even rocks. Acknowledging this allows for the sensitivity to feel it. Thank you for helping to open that portal.

Leave a Reply

