Transmission Transition


There is so much transition going on right now. The Shift it is being called by some. What does that really mean? It feels to me like driving a 5 speed and I’ve wound out 4th gear as far as it will go. The transmission is whining and straining at being held back when it is poised to go much faster if I would just shift. I know I need to shift gears. I have been shifting gears spiritually for years. Lately I have shifted gears in my emotional body. In the moment of NOW the shift is moving into the physical. I feel its the last stop on a journey of full connection to my higher self, if there is any such thing as a last stop.

It seems like a kaleidoscope superimposed over a hurricane. Just as I get focused on one facet the whole view changes. I was never all that good with change. How is it that as humans we all seem to struggle with change when its the only thing apparent in our lives that is constant?

When changes are coming in the foreground it feels scary and ominous. Once the changes have happened, most often we look back with appreciation realizing that the changes needed to happen to bring us our latest blessing, but how to weather the storm in between? As I wrote that question I thought that following it should be some kind of answer about how to weather the storm but there isn’t. Not any more than there is an answer for the fisherman on his boat caught out in the perfect storm for how to navigate it. The storm teaches him with each swell, what needs to come next to survive and something about who he is in the process

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

What I’m learning in the moment through this journey is that no matter how much the engine whines I can’t shift until I feel it and when the feelings change I shift again. Since this journey has so many uphills, downhills, curves and turns, sometimes its a down shift for a minute until I come to the top of the next rise and can ease up and shift up again. The transmission feels like its in my stomach, churning and turning until the next up shift. This is definitely outside my comfort zone!

I have heard many saying that life begins outside your comfort zone so I guess at this point I’ll just welcome life? What choice do I have? For me, none. I’ve already met God in the valley of the shadows and when given a choice between reclaiming my life or staying there, I reclaimed my life so there is no further choice at this time. I will take a deep breath and let go when my every instinct says to hold on. In every moment I must refocus on breathing, letting go and repeating. When I feel hurt in my heart I will think of it breaking open to receive more joy and give more love. When I feel sea sick from the waves rocking the boat I will dive into the deepest swell and become the water. When I lose sight of those things I will dive into the Sisterhood and drink from the fountain of love and enlightenment that is there, ever thankful for this deep well to quench my thirst for connection and support on his highway, river, journey we call life! It redirects me toward my bliss in every comment! So with that I take the lyrics of the amazing Kara Johnstad to heart as I Let Go and Trust!

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 29 and 9 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 12 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 7 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you’d like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy or soul integration/inner child play please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon *at* yahoo.com, Blessings for your highest and best, Vicki Willoughby.

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

5 thoughts on “Transmission Transition

  1. Vicki..This line “When I feel sea sick from the waves rocking the boat I will dive into the deepest swell and become the water.” My God, that is beautiful poetry… Definitely something that resonates with me. Thank you for sharing your gift, your journey

  2. Wow Vicky… I can feel the ride… life’s just a fancy fair… hey, so good to know you’re sitting next to me… to us. ❤

Leave a Reply

