Grateful for bills…


Every payday I heard myself grumbling about how I don’t get to keep my money for very long, because I need to give it to the landlord, and the power company, and the cable company, and the phone company, and the grocery store, and the gas station.

One day I realized that I was the one who chose to have those bills. No one made me sign a lease or turn the power on. No one twisted my arm and made me call the cable company to order the Internet on a phone that someone made me buy. No one forced me to buy a car so I could drive to work or stop at a grocery store to buy food.

Without these bills, though, I wouldn’t have a home to live in that’s warm in the winter and cool in the summer. I wouldn’t have the internet or TV, or a phone to talk to my kids and grandkids. I wouldn’t have food to eat or a way to cook it, and I wouldn’t have transportation to be able to get to my job.

I would be living on the street with nothing else to do but survive.

Suddenly all the things I needed to pay became things I wanted to pay, and all it took was a simple change in perspective. I turned my needs into my wants.

I finally became very grateful for my bills, and I show my appreciation by paying them on time. It’s very nice that they show their appreciation also…by not charging me late fees anymore.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE? Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it: My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

Leave a Reply

