The Consequences


061Sometimes we get bit in the butt by our choices. When my friend, pictured above, took a jump off Devil’s Oven into the St. Lawrence River, she didn’t expect that she was going to end up bruised and bleeding from hitting the water in an unfortunate position. It was a fair expectation that since so many others had done it, that it would be fine.

There are many consequences that are much more clearly mapped. We can control our choices of how to respond to and be creative in life and to some extent we can control the consequences of those choices. As a healing facilitator I have seen so many people wishing to be released from the consequences of their choices when they knew perfectly good and well what the reasonable expectations of results would be from the beginning.

We are so conditioned that other people’s voices and other people’s apparent needs and requests be honored before our own internal voice is even considered. What does that internal voice say? I know that it tells me things like, “You don’t need that eclair from the bakery.” Sometimes I listen, sometimes I don’t. Food is something we require for human life so its easy to blur the lines between what is good for us and what is not.

I struggle with my feelings about our conditioning, how it came about and why it exists and why we don’t stop it. I don’t pretend to have all the answers. If my parents, who have been passed over for 30 yrs, were still alive they would have no idea how to process what is going on in the world at this time. . . What do you mean the phone doesn’t need a cord? Internet, Google, what’s that and why would you want to know? People can carry computers around in their cell phones? How is it that beer and liquors are advertised on tv while there is a war waged against drunk drivers? Why is there a war on drugs when drugs are being pushed to the public multiple times per hour in almost every method of media? Why is it that herbs and natural substances are outlawed while cigarettes command a king’s ransom to annihilate your health?

I struggle because it is clear that smoking a pack or more a day of cigarettes is bad for your breathing, bad for your health and bad for your budget. Yet many people smoke and cigarettes are still legally produced. People expect support and sympathy when they reap the consequences of the choice to smoke. It is clear that excessive consumption of alcohol is bad for our health, bad for our relationships and bad for the budget but alcohol is legally produced and pumped over the airwaves as a cool thing. This goes hand in hand with soda, that has absolutely NO nutritional value, diet products that have known toxins and carcinogens, vaccines that have proven to have devastating effects, fluoride in our water and products that devastate thyroids among other things and pharmaceutical drugs which thousands die as a result of each year.

My entire family was devastated at the loss of my mother when she was given a drug she was allergic to, yet pharmaceutical safety has plummeted while the use of prescribed drugs has skyrocketed. I stood at the bedside of a nephew today whose liver has shut down as a result of drinking alcohol. It will have no effect on the popularity of the Budweiser commercials during the Super Bowl this coming year. Why do we perpetuate our own destruction? Why do we not only finance but cater to the ongoing slow suicide of things that are simply not beneficial or compatible with life?

Who profits from the addictions that are encouraged that pit us against ourselves? Why do we continue even after we know the problem and that we have the power to solve it? Why do people say they can’t afford necessities when the cigarette and beer budget always seem to be satisfied?

To me, its a consequence of our belief. Either you believe you can or you believe you can’t and your next action will be determined by that belief. If we believe we can’t have or we don’t deserve, what comes next? If you believe you can, what comes next? We are in charge of our own beliefs and they can be changed, with a choice.

I pray that people begin demanding an end to those things that are insane and unsustainable. That demand must begin internally. I pray that I listen to my own internal guidance more closely as I continue to learn and grow. Please join me in moving away from what is normal and toward what is natural and supportive that we can live through the consequences of.

This entry was posted in Women by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

