What Does It Mean to Meditate?


Meditation can be practiced in many different ways and means many things to many people. Being present, being conscious, being in the Now…lots of buzz words and catchy phrases being thrown around lately and it can all sound quite ethereal and lofty. Put simply though all it really means is Pay Attention!

So as an adult with what I’m pretty sure is undiagnosed A.D.D that also is no simple task. For the longest time I thought meditation was something that took a lot of effort and required a laundry list of pre-requisites to be accomplished first. I would walk around the house and mark off a mental checklist. Incense? Yes. Low lighting? Yes. Absolute quiet with no chance of being interrupted for several minutes? Check. Then I would agonize over which of my several meditation CD’s I would use for that particular occasion and sit down in my best pretzel like posture and begin the arduous process of trying to quiet my mind and begin the process that would assure me complete peace and enlightenment.

Let me just say that trying to quiet an A.D.D. brain is next to impossible. It is like driving through New York City or Las Vegas at night and struggling to only see what is happening in the car and not the bright lights and flashing billboards all around you. And the more I set the process of meditation up on this unattainable pedestal, the more I could feel victimized by my distractibility, and the less I really could quiet my mind at all. At best I could be aware of the constant influx of thoughts and at least remember the thoughts were separate from the spirit and I could be grateful for that little bit of success.

But then I realized that getting to a “No Mind” state didn’t have to be spent sweeping away a constant stream of random ideas. All I really needed to be able to do is to be completely aware of being in my body. I CAN pay very specific attention to my breath without changing it. I CAN feel my heartbeat, my pulse steadily beating thoughout my body. I can be vigilant in paying attention to the minute details of the present moment and not allow myself to get caught up in what happened before that moment or what might happen next.

I CAN just breathe and feel the energy from the earth flooding in and out. And I can just BE.

If I can do that, anyone can. It’s not rocket science, I promise. And if you do that enough, it gets easier to not get caught up in stuff that doesn’t matter.

It gets easier to see the forest AND each tree.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 42 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

 

Dreamer’s Prayer

Leave a Reply

