No maybe’s about it…


My job is about 25 miles away from where I live, so I get there faster if I can take the freeway.  I work weekends, so Saturday and Sunday are never a problem, but Mondays and Tuesdays are a nightmare. There are four places along the way where cars are merging onto the freeway, so it’s like watching a sea of red lights ahead of me as we crawl along at 5 miles an hour.

Fortunately, because I used to live in a little town located about half-way between my job and where I live now, I knew how to get to work from there without taking the freeway, so on weekdays I take the back roads through that little town.  It’s a slow 25 mph thru the town, and then 40 mph along the rest of the way until I reach the city I work in.

Even though it takes me about 20 minutes longer than it does on the weekends, I soon discovered that these are my favorite days to drive to work.

I don’t have to pay close attention to cars on the left or right because there are none. I can allow the recommended distance between the car in front of me because there’s room for us to travel together safely with enough room for another car to enter between us without much interference in our speed.

I use this freedom from the stress of freeway driving for more enjoyable activities, like listening to the radio and actually hearing the song instead of it just being noise, and I can open my mind to receive random thoughts from the Universe about something to write about in my blog post.

Most times the ideas pop into my mind because of a song I’m listening to, but I remember one time I received a thought unlike anything ever before.

Although I was alone in my car, I heard it clearly and distinctly, almost as if someone was sitting in the car talking to me. I couldn’t tell if it was a male or female voice, but I remember I sat up straighter and actually looked around to see if someone was there.

The voice told me, “You don’t have to die to go into the light.”

After the initial shock, I was immediately overwhelmed with a feeling of joy. My heart felt like it was expanding, filling with so much love that it brought tears to my eyes.

I have pondered this statement many times, wondering why it said that. A spiritual person understands that you don’t have to die to SEE the light, but my understanding of going INTO the light was very different than seeing it.

It wasn’t until I started writing this that I started to understand that maybe it means the same thing.

Maybe seeing the light is actually going into the light.

Maybe seeing the light is actually going into Heaven.

Maybe seeing the light is actually experiencing Heaven on Earth.

Actually, there are no maybe’s about it…

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE? Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it: My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

One thought on “No maybe’s about it…

Leave a Reply

