On Recognizing Energy


One of the most profound personal experiences I have had to date occurred several months ago beside a camp fire. I was in a blissful state, consciously aware of being one with all there is and in absolute awe with the natural beauty around me. I could feel my legs rooted deep into the earth as if nothing could physically move me from the spot where I stood. I was not just standing on this bit of earth, I was one with it.

Guided by a friend, I put my hands so that my palms were almost touching and moved them across one another until the sensation of pressure between them was so strong it was as if I were holding magnets opposing one another, pushing my palms just apart. The sense of this connection to my own energy was so strong, it is hard to put into words.

I was fascinated by it. I began to move my hands in such a way as to further press and compact this energy between my palms until it seemed to form a spherical shape and even in the semi darkness I could see traces of pinks and purples. It was really quite beautiful.

If you have not experienced this for yourself I am quite aware of how crazy this sounds. But it is real, I assure you. Practice it. This experience is what inspired me to begin studying Reiki. The whole thing reminds me of the Force from Star Wars. The energy is there all the time. You just have to be made aware of it and how to use it.

I painted this image about a year ago. It is of two trees, one brighter and more full of life than the other. I toyed with the idea of trying to figure out if I meant to portray the weaker tree as sucking the energy from the more vibrant or if the more vibrant tree gave away its energy willingly. In the end, I decided it was up to the perception of the viewer, and really didn’t matter anyway. It isn’t like there is a shortage of healing energy.

You choose your level of awareness and what you are willing to do with it.

Just recognizing that it exists is a good start.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

Leave a Reply

