Here and There


‘There’ is no better than ‘here’. When your ‘there’ has become ‘here’ you will simply obtain another ‘there’ that will again look better than ‘here’.

My ‘here’ is better now than it used to be. In many ways the ‘there’ that I dreamed of has manifested. This year I got engaged, moved to America and completed a massive personal career goal.

Walking along an incredibly beautiful country road in Wisconsin on a summer evening at dusk, with fireflies zipping through the grass and the sun blazing and sweeping across the perfect sky, holding hands with my fiancé, I could really say, I am here. This is it. Nothing can top this. I hope to experience other days and moments as beautiful as this, but this is perfection. This is it. One of those moments when the present moment is supreme. I experience these moments more than I used to, but they still amaze me. The trick is to make the present moment supreme even at times that are not so ‘perfect’ and awe-inspiring.

Having said that  – in manifesting and achieving many things that in my old ‘here’ seemed out of reach, or dreamlike – the future expands before me and I see another ‘there’. I have different goals and aims, I have plans, I have ‘obstacles’ to overcome. I have to find ways to live the life I want, to facilitate my plans and further realize my ambitions. Once one dream comes to fruition, another one is in the pipeline. I am not sure we ever arrive at a destination. There will always be a here and a there.

While I truly believe we can improve our lives and circumstances, I also believe once we do it, our reality shifts and we adapt, we can even adapt to paradise.

I imagine when I find myself in the most beautiful house of my dreams, I will adapt to it very quickly. My modest terraced/ semi-detached homes and apartments just fading into the distance as I expand into my ‘here’. I know this because I have been fortunate enough to find myself in some very beautiful locations, some very beautiful houses. And quickly this awe inspiring beauty becomes normal.

The past summer is a wonderful example of this. Living in Chicago, spending time in the incredible beauty of the mid-western country side, while I remained in appreciation and gratitude, I could see it quickly became normal. Now that I am days away from leaving and returning to Ireland for several months, it is less normal, and I see everything through fresh eyes again, with longing and desire. I face challenges too. With great dreams coming true we can also face great challenges. In my experience it is always worth it. I have grown and expanded so much this summer. Still there is another there. More and more there’s, and so the masterpiece is built, the cathedral, the work of art. Your life.

The lesson for me is to enjoy the here as much as possible, while always keeping an eye on the there. You will get there. Enjoy being here.

photo taken by Ellen Anne Burns

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where she has just completed her PhD in Applied Drama. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love, especially with a view to romantic relationships. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

Leave a Reply

