A Tribute to My Dad


Photo by Leah Schroeder

Photo by Leah Schroeder

This is a very intimate posting as I am feeling the recent loss of my dad.  I know he is still very much present in the spiritual form, but I will miss him.  He was 93 years old.  He lived until 1 day past his 66th Wedding Anniversary.  He has lived a long and full life.

This man was a quiet, gentle soul, with a simple but solid faith that was every part of who he was.  I know that I have many qualities from both my parents, but the quiet, gentle, and kind nature, I would like to believe are traits that I have adopted.  In saying that, I know that I have a long way to go to being like him in that way.  He never held a grudge against anyone and always wanted to see others being treated fairly.

When I was young my dad had a mild heart attack so I grew up believing he wouldn’t live until I was an adult.  He has weathered many health issues over the years, some that we didn’t think he would come out of, but he always did.  I told him he was like a cat with 9 lives.

This time, my dad knew he was very ill, and had a sense that he was not going to live long.  He had a sense of urgency to let our family know his wishes.  His brother passed away a few days before he went into the hospital so this was very much on his mind as he processed his own situation.

I read Bible passages to my dad when I would come for a visit.  This was important to him.  He would share stories or bring up memories of things we used to do, like shopping at a place called California Fruit in the North End of Winnipeg, the city we live in.  The man that owned the store used to tell me and my sister that he knew my dad before we were born.  My dad shared with me how it was he came to know this man.  My dad had an amazing memory and has always been able to talk for hours, sharing stories of his life, in great detail.

Personal grooming was always important to my dad.  He had to have neatly combed hair and he had to be clean shaven.  When I would go for visits I would help him with his electric shaver.  A few days before he passed away I trimmed and filed his finger nails for him.  To my knowledge he never asked anyone else for these things.

My dad loved it when I practiced Reiki on him.  One time, we talked about some shoulder pain he was having and how he wasn’t able to exercise his shoulders much anymore.  I said I would do Reiki on him.  He said “Yeah that I can do.”  I reminded him that he didn’t need to do anything and that he would be fast asleep within minutes of starting a session.  My niece, who was listening to this conversation just laughed and laughed.

While my dad was in the hospital, at the end of the evening before I left, I often took a few minutes to do some Reiki to relax him for the night.  A few days before he passed away, he was really struggling to breath and was coughing uncontrollably.  I asked his nurse for a few things I knew would settle him down.  When she was done assisting him, and he was resting – the head of his bed raised and his body leaning toward the railing on his right side, I stood by his side and began some Reiki.  I found myself holding my left hand over his head and my right hand over his chest.  I saw light in that space.  I felt like I was cradling him in my arms.

Before leaving him, I told him that I loved him and he responded “I love you too.”  Those are words not typically spoken in our family.  That night I drove out of town for a wedding that was to take place the next day.  It was hard leaving him and I cried.

The wedding was over early in the evening on August 17th, my parent’s anniversary.  I decided to make my way back to the hospital to see my dad.  I was only there for a short time, and I knew he was getting weaker and was really struggling.  My sister spent the night with him and I went home.  This was the way it was meant to be.

Early in the morning on August 18th, I was called back to the hospital with the rest of my family.  As I stood by his bed, I asked Creator to communicate with him, as he was no longer able to respond.  I knew he was ready.  I called in all the angels.  At times, oblivious to what was happening around me, I would hold my hands over him, and allow for whatever energy needed to be there to flow through me to him.

When my brother arrived, he told my dad we were all there.  My younger sister was still in flight from Kelowna, but she was there in spirit.  I knew she would be okay with not physically being there.  My dad’s breathing changed. I let my dad know it was okay to let go and I told him my brother and sister that had previously passed away were there.

His breathing slowed.  There was very little separation between breathe and the absence of breathe.  We watched and waited for another and finally there was no more.  During this time, I became aware of dark clouds, pouring rain and thunder and lightning outside his window.   I thought a rather dramatic exit for such a quiet, gentle man.

The morning of the funeral service, as my family gathered, I felt the need for some quiet time, so my younger sister asked for a few moments of silence.  During this time, I went into a meditative state and I saw my dad.  He was so happy.  I saw my sister, Brenda, on one side of him, my brother, Albert, on the other side, and down in front I saw my Uncle Phil, his brother who had recently passed.  They were all so happy.  There was so much light and this incredible feeling of joy.  This experience and this powerful feeling have continued to carry me through this time.

Though I will miss him dearly, I am at peace with this transition, and am deeply grateful for the time I have had with my dad.  So many people have expressed to me what a good man he was.  So many people have held me and my family with their love and light during this time.  I have even felt the wings of angels surrounding me and holding me.  It has been a beautiful gift.  Thank you to all of the angels in my life.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 16 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder and tagged , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to My Dad

  1. Leah, your father made a beautiful transition. It was as gentle as his presence in this plane. What a wonderful memory to be left with and what a gift to you to be able to support him in his farewell. I’m glad you took those moments to move into a Zen state and witness the final process…what peace it must bring.

Leave a Reply

