Let go and let God…


This morning I read a quote on a Facebook friend’s wall.

“Stop worrying about the world ending today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia.” ~ Charles M. Shultz

This quote explains why our world was created the way it was. There can never be a fixed day that the world will end. The time zones took care of that. It is simply not logical to believe that the world will end for those in another time zone and will end for the others when their day arrives, so there is really no need to worry about it…or anything else for that matter.

We spend a great deal of time worrying about things that may or may not happen. Some of our worries are based upon our past experiences that have nothing to do with what will happen in the future. The two are completely separate from each other.

Worry, even though past events show that “bad” things have happened, is really showing that we are not capable of trusting a person’s choice about their life experience…even our own.

Some of our worries are based upon other people’s experiences. News broadcasts are a constant reminder of the tragedies that are happening in other people’s lives. I stopped watching the news years ago when I realized that I didn’t need to be an audience to someone’s pain. Now, the only time I hear about current affairs is when I’m at work. Worry, based upon our observations of tragedies, is really showing that we are not capable of trusting a person’s choice about their life experience…even our own.

Some of our worries are based upon how much we love somebody. When they’re late, or they forget to call, we worry that something bad may have happened to them. This can sometimes put a very big strain on a relationship. Worry, even those we see as coming from love, is really showing that we are not capable of trusting a person’s choice about their life experience…even our own.

In our human form, we are incapable of knowing and understanding the choices that are being made second by second by the billions of people who currently live on this planet and the trillions of people who have lived here before…even our own.

Albert Einstein said, “Imagination is everything. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions.”  When we worry, we are using our imagination in a negative manner, so it is easy to understand why there is so much pain in the world. I think it would be better to just let go and let God handle everything that we are habitually worried about. He is, after all, the only one who knows how everything is actually playing out while we are writing our stories.

 WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

3 thoughts on “Let go and let God…

  1. I love this Laura, it reminds me of the plaque I saw that was a message from God, roughly saying, I’ll be handling all your worries today, take the day off. Embracing this!

    • Thanks Vicki! I heard this phrase over 30 years ago, and I use it every day. Sometimes I forget at first, but it always seems to pop into my head just when I need it the most…of course 🙂

  2. This is GREAT! I was just talking about worry on the radio yesterday and basically saying the same things you wrote about here! It is definitely negative and causes much stress and anxiety to so many people! Why worry about the future when it hasn’t even happened yet? So much great stuff is happening NOW, let’s enjoy it! 🙂 (I’m gonna send this to my parents and share with my Facebook community!) Mahalo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

