Money


My experience has yielded an ambivalent attitude to money. In my home, sometimes it seemed to be a case of ‘feast or famine’. I often knew luxury and there was always aspects of the ‘good life’, but there were also times of lack, catastrophe even.

As an adult I have felt myself to be ‘scraping by’. Generally, money has been an extremely stressful energy in my life. I have worried about it, misused it, hated it, been scared of it and confused by it. But I have tapped into magic at times. Various experiences in my life have lead me to believe that money is simply an energy. It’s not actually something we have to slave for, something that is our dictator, our ruler and king. No. Money is an energy like all other energy – love, kindness, optimism, ambition and action. Positive and Negative.

I first started looking at Louise Hay in my early 20’s – and saw a whole different way to be – to manifest, to create, to co-create. I created a trip with millionaires and some experiences beyond my wildest dreams, and while I ‘worked’ to create this experience, really it was simply a matter of being ‘in action’, taking a few steps to make my summer better, to earn a bit of pocket money by child-minding…the miracles all came to me because of where my mind was, what I was saying to myself, what I was believing….this attracted the million dollar summer and life lasting experience of wealth and luxury and travel and possibility. I didn’t have to ‘work’ for it at all.

But I slipped back into the ‘poverty mind-set’ very quickly. Like all other practices that are good for you – it takes commitment and dedication – it takes practice to continually affirm abundance, in the face of physical evidence to the contrary – and yet this is where the magic happens. The universe responds to your beliefs and feelings about yourself. If you consistently tell yourself you don’t have enough money, guess what? You never will. If you can look at your bank account and imagine more zeros, if you feel rich when you buy yourself a lovely sweater, or you are having a nice meal, then you are attracting more of this abundance to you….it’s all about how you feel. It is hard to feel rich when you are struggling to pay the bills, but the more you can imagine abundance and imagine the kind of lifestyle you wish to live, the more this will come into your experience. This is true of all things, not just money.

It is crucially important to practice conscious language with money. I cannot tell you how often conversations with my friends and family have focussed on having ‘no money’. ‘I can’t afford it’. ‘I am so broke’. ‘I’m skint’. On and on in my dialogue with myself and others I affirmed my financial lack. This is something I am still working on. I simply do not allow myself to utter these words any more. I AM are two of the most important words you can say, and what follows will become true for you. Instead I try to flex my gratitude muscle. ‘I am lucky’, ‘I have everything I need’. ‘Wow, isn’t this lovely!’ – be it a cup of coffee, nice glass of wine, a new pair of shoes. If you really want to feel rich, spend time in nature, there is such abundance there, breathe it in.

Increasingly I am coming to believe it is not even about manifesting hard green stuff. Rather it is about focussing on what you want in your life – a beautiful house, a successful career, love, nice holidays, travel, and then really believing that these can come to you. Of course it involves ‘work’ and being in action. But a paradigm shift is upon us. Let’s give up our old ideas about money, and co-create a life of abundance, in all the ways that make our hearts fill up with joy.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where she has just completed her PhD in Applied Drama. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love, especially with a view to romantic relationships. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

3 thoughts on “Money

  1. Thank you for this reminder, Ellen. I know the Universe always gives me what I need. I just needed the extra “nudge” to remember that it also shows me how to get what I want. Your words are both the need and the want. :-).

Leave a Reply

