Karma Happens


I saw a bumper sticker today that read “Karma happens.” I chuckled softly to myself and agreed with that statement but on a deeper level than I may have a few years ago.

I don’t believe Karma is necessarily something that is only carried from lifetime to lifetime like the chains around ole Jacob Marley from A Christmas Story. I think the Universe has laws or principles that act something like a boomerang, sending back what you send out, not necessary waiting until you die to tally up the score. I think the energy sent comes back in a more immediate way most of the time.

A couple of years ago my partner had been incapacitated by illness that was never fully explained. She had been experiencing daily debilitating migraines and spent a few days in the hospital. Even though the headache cycle finally subsided after a few weeks, I was in a steady state of stressing out over trying to balance working and taking care of her as well as tending to the children and the animals..and well, just about everything.

The day I brought her home from the hospital I was a frantic nervous wreck. I took her home and went to the pharmacy to try and get her prescriptions filled before she woke. By the time I got back from doing that as well as picking up some groceries it was dusk and I was rushing around in a panic to get the garbage to the road and then feed the horses.

While I was walking out into the pasture with the horse feed our 1 yr old colt started to walk closely beside me on the way to his bucket just like he always did. But this time, he suddenly turned on me for no apparent reason and kicked me to the ground and stomped both his front legs into my thigh. I was screaming in pain and shock and fear. I managed to get back up and finish feeding everybody and hobble back into the house.

Amazingly, no bones were broken but I was badly bruised from my hip to my toes for the next few weeks and I still carry a calcified hematoma in my thigh where the hoof prints had been.

I was never able to trust that colt again and we ended up giving him away several months later. Fortunately, he became a wonderful addition to a small horse farm without incident. He, in fact, is beloved and is often ridden by a very young boy in terrific partnership.

So why did he suddenly attack me that day out of the blue when all I was trying to do was feed him? I believe he picked up on my crazy stressed out freaked out energy, rushing around to get everything done and worrying about what was wrong with my partner. Poor little guy was so young and immature and didn’t know what to do with all that negative energy. I think he just acted on it without realizing what he was doing. I believe, even though there wasn’t any mean spirited focus, the energy I sent out boomeranged right back to me..with a vengeance.

Karma is about energy and intention.

I know a father who has battled his own demons with alcohol and became so lost in his own cycles of misery and pleasure seeking that he lost touch with his only son. Now that son is embarking on a similar journey and it is their mutual pain and hardship which may serve to bring them together again.

I have countless stories from patients about illness and healing and how those transformations were directly correlated to emotions and perspectives. The lessons are everywhere and the karmic debts have to be paid.

So today as you may get ready for work and maybe get stuck in traffic and spill your coffee on your new pants..be very cognizant of the energy you are putting out. Breathe in gratitude, be grateful you have a job to go to and a car to get you there. Be grateful for the coffee in your cup. Take heed with the energy and intention you send out into the world.

Put it out for good my friends. Rest assured, it will find its way back to you in one form or another. I believe Karma does indeed happen.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

2 thoughts on “Karma Happens

  1. After just starting a new semester of school, losing 2 scholarships, and losing contact with my father, this article couldn’t have come at a better time. I feel like so much is demanded of me and the energy that I send out is so resentful. I have to be in school all day and at work immediately after, just to get home at 11:30 and start all over again the next day at 8. I keep thinking, when will my life start? Why does everyone need so much from me?

    Thank you for posting this, it’s helped me realize that I need to appreciate everything that I have. My life isn’t going to come to a point where all of my commitments fade away and I can start living. I’m living now, and I need to realize that I need to actively participate in my commitments in a positive way. I can’t get through life dreading work and class, I’ll be so drained that I won’t have any positive energy left for my free time.

    I would love to come see you soon, I can call you when I have a weekend off to find out if you’re free. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I hope I can talk to you soon!

    • Awwe Brur, I’m sorry you are going through such a difficult time. Remember to breathe and take time to connect with nature. I’m glad my blog post helped you to shift your perspective! That is all we have you know, our perspective of NOW. Love to you and you can come visit any time

Leave a Reply

