Bridges


Bridges have always been attractive to me and as I mature I see so many bridges in so many ways.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

I feel that I am a bridge. I am the last of 8 children and my closest sibling in age was 8 yrs older than me before his passing. I also have 20+ nieces and nephews the eldest of which is within 2 yrs of my age. In the group of my siblings I am referred to as the “baby” of the family. To my nieces and nephews I am more of an elder but also more of a peer with the closeness in age. Because I am part of the elder generation there are many parts of our history that I am privy to that the younger generation is not, unless I share that with them. I bridge the gap between the layers of our family and very happily so since I am accepted in both sets.

Another reason bridges have always been attractive to me is the amount of time I have spent in the 1,000 Islands in Upstate New York in the shadow of (or the light of depending on if its day or night) the first span of the International Bridge system connecting the US to Canada. The bridge has always been like a gateway to paradise to me. The demarcation of the St. Lawrence River and where it heads south into Lake Ontario. As we would travel there in my childhood it was always a contest to see who could see the bridge first as it would loom into view. Walking up it was always like a rite of passage into a different view of life. Nowhere else can you stand and look down into the stack of a ship passing underneath or have a higher perspective of the herons flying below.

Yesterday as I stood at the top of that bridge with a friend, I was trying to catch my breath since we had jogged part way to the top to get the best view of the ship we saw coming as we approached. As I breathed I began to think of my breath as the bridge, the bridge between me and everyone and everything else.

Its the space in between that connects us, the space in between that makes us one. That space is infinite and all encompassing. That space contains the air that we breath, the thoughts that we think, the radio waves we listen to and all the sensory wisdom Mother Nature has to offer. What would it look like if we could take one cubic inch of space and discover all it contains? Xrays, microwaves, pollen, pheromones, cell phone signals and communications from other worlds could all exist in that one inch of space and we would never even know it!

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Our conscious perception is that space is empty but in truth it contains so much that we could perceive if we were paying attention. If we were blindfolded we would hear the bird’s call, the cricket’s chirp and the low rumble of the ship’s engine in the distance.  We’d smell the neighbor firing up the grill and the skunk that just meandered through the back yard. Even with paying attention to that space there is still so much more we do not perceive. Awareness bridges the gap between us and those things typically unnoticed.

As I stood on top of that bridge feeling the shimmy and sway inspired by the wind and the trucks, I thought the bridge is like a woman. This bridge is able to bend and sway to accommodate a variety of conditions at once. It can handle a major load without buckling under the pressure. It is supportive and stead fast and dependable. It is worthy of our wonder at how it does what it does.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

If we could see all the connections there are between us all it would be very clear that there are more connections than there are separations. If we can live according to our connectedness and the bridges between us this can be a different world. One of respect and compassion, one of love and understanding. Be the bridge.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 29 and 9 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 12 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 7 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you’d like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy or soul integration/inner child play please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon *at* yahoo.com, Blessings for your highest and best, Vicki Willoughby.

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

