Tie Creek – Part 1 – The Journey


The Journey - Photo by Leah Schroeder

The Journey – Photo by Leah Schroeder

My life is in a bit of a crazy place right now.  Between the different forms of work I do and other aspects of my life, my father has been in the hospital for the past few weeks.  I have a tendency to deplete all my energy as I attempt to be there for other people, but I am getting better at caring for myself and taking time out to rest and do things that refuel me and feed my soul.

In the midst of this craziness an opportunity presented itself to visit a place called Tie Creek.  I have wanted to go there all summer so I didn’t hesitate at joining a small group of people for this journey.

I have written previously of my visits to a sacred petroform site at Bannock Point, in the Whiteshell Provincial Park in Manitoba, Canada.  Tie Creek is about an hour and a half to two hour hike from Bannock Point.  They are very much connected to each other.  I have been told that the petroform sites in the area form the shape of a turtle.  I believe that Tie Creek is at the center of this.  It is energetically the most powerful.

When we arrived at the spot where our journey began, we walked to the bridge.  The river is calm on one side of the bridge and beautiful rapids on the other side.  We introduced ourselves to each other, there were eight of us.  We shared our intentions for this journey.  We were told that we were sharing this experience as a group, a family, and were there to support each other along the way and through every part of the experience.   We asked Spirit for permission to begin our journey, set our intentions and released an offering of tobacco into the river.

Our journey began.  The path was wide enough for a quad (ATV) to travel.  There had been a fair bit of rain the week before, so the path through the bush was fairly muddy.  We had to navigate the ruts filled with water, left behind by quads traveling through when the path was very wet.

We took note of various creatures we saw along the way, and the healing properties their presence provided to our journey.  There were many small frogs.  We saw butterflies every now and then.  Whenever I would ask for a dragonfly to let me know I was on the right path, one appeared.  There were also many grasshoppers as we got closer to our destination, clearing the energy around us.

Our hike in took two hours.  It gave us an opportunity to get to know each other a bit.  We stayed fairly close together as a group, especially after discovering wolf tracks in the mud along our route.  One of the people leading our group turned around every now and then to let me know there were deer following us.  I never did see them, but sensed they were there, and I saw their tracks later when we returned.

After about an hour and a half, we exited the woods onto more rocky ground.  There was a distinct path of granite rock that led us to what is known as the Gateway.  This place is marked by two large boulders.  They were lined up in a way that made it very obvious that they served a purpose in being there.  At this place it is required to ask Spirit for permission to proceed to Tie Creek.  Intentions are set, and an offering is presented by placing it on the first large boulder.  We were instructed to clap our hand against the rock.  If a hollow sound was made, it meant we had permission to proceed.  It was not clear to me, but to my understanding, if no sound is made, then one does not have permission to enter the site.

We all were granted permission, so we continued on our journey.  It took us at least another twenty minutes or so to get to the site.  Once upon a time the government took a group of aboriginal inmates to this place to build a giant chain link fence around it.  It must be at least ten feet high with barbed wire around the top.  There is a gate that is kept locked at all times.  One has to find someone with a key to get access to the site.  The story is that the fence was built to protect the site, but it is a sad bit of history where the government has built the fence for control.  Mother Nature has found its way to breaking down part of the fence, and in places one could crawl under the fence if need be.

When I walked through the gate, I intuitively held my hands parallel to the ground.  I instantly felt this powerful current of energy between my hands and the ground.  It was way more intense than anything I felt at the Bannock Point petroform site.  It is really difficult to express in words how powerful this was.  The ground we walked on was very pure, high grade granite.  This is obviously the site of a very powerful energy vortex.

As we walked towards the centre of this site, there was an area with long lines of small rocks laid out on the face of the larger rock we were walking on. We were asked to take off our shoes and walk barefoot.  We remained barefoot until we prepared to leave the site.  Having our body directly connecting to the powerful energy of this area is incredibly powerful and healing in and of itself.

We move up the rock.   As we stood near the top of this area looking down at the rows, it was explained to us that the row on the left, which was very straight, was our soul’s path.  The row on the right was more jagged or uneven, with a few gaps in placed, which shows where we have veered off track of that path.

Later this was explained further using an eagle feather.  The spine of the feather is our soul’s path.  The hairs of the feather are all the ways that we veer off track.  Sometimes those hairs are connected and sometimes they come apart.  Whenever we move away from our soul’s path, as moving to the outer edge of the eagle feather, you always have to go back the way you came, and can only move forward once the lesson has been learned.  There are no shortcuts.

After sharing a meal together, and visiting for a bit, some items were laid out on a blanket for some rituals.  The practice of smudging was explained and the smudging bowl carried around the circle for each of us to smudge ourselves.  We were taught about the significance of other items on the blanket, followed by some singing and drumming.  Eventually, we were individually taken to a spot in the area, where ever we were guided to be, where we would spend the next couple of hours in meditation.  A circle of cedar was sprinkled around us.

After a few hours, we gathered back together and shared our experiences.  An eagle feather was passed and each person shared while they held the feather.  It was quite a powerful time.  When we felt ready to leave, we gathered our things and made the long journey back.  As we left the site, we offered tobacco in thanks to Creator.  When we got back to the Gateway, we offered tobacco again to say thank you.  When we got back to the bridge at the river, we made an offering and said thank you again.  As we got back to our vehicles to leave we hugged each other and parted as family.

Driving back from this journey, I experienced the most amazing sunset I have ever seen.  What a beautiful gift to end an amazing day.  I will share more of my own experience in another post.  Thank you for taking this journey with me.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 16 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder and tagged , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

One thought on “Tie Creek – Part 1 – The Journey

Leave a Reply

