The Deer


Photo by Leah Schroeder

Photo by Leah Schroeder

Recently, my partner and I took a break from our work to spend several days at a cottage of some friends of ours.  For both of us it was incredibly important to get away from everything and have some time together.  It was the perfect place for us to be to unwind and reconnect.  We sometimes talk about how much we would like to be able to spend our entire summer in a place like that.

A couple of mornings, while I was there, I spent the first part of my morning down on the dock.  I would start with a bit of yoga, and then I would move into a time of meditation.

It was so peaceful.  I listened to the water lapping against the dock and the shoreline and a light breeze rustling in the trees.  I heard the occasional fish jumping, kids playing in the water across the lake, and birds singing.

My experience with meditation here was so powerful.  I could feel myself filling with this incredible, golden light.  I could feel an intensity around my crown chakra, like I was being pulled up – a sensation I get when I am entering into a ThetaHealing® session or meditation.

When my time of meditation was complete, and I opened my eyes, everything around me seemed clearer and brighter.  I don’t even know how to put it into words, but everything looked and felt different, and I felt a deeper connection to all of it.  I was at peace.  I could have sat there for hours.

One morning, as I completed my meditation, I saw something move on the shoreline across the bay, several hundred feet away from where I sat.  As I focused in on what I was seeing, I realized it was a deer.  As it started to move up a rock, another deer came into view, and then a third.  They came near the water’s edge and ran up the rock back into the woods.

As I write this, I am reminded of the sacred symbol of the number three.  It represents divine fullness, perfection and completion – to be lifted up.

I am developing a very special connection with deer.  During my first Sweat Lodge ceremony, when I was given my spirit name, I was told I am part of the Deer Clan.  During my first Shamanic Journey experience, I discovered my Spiritual Power Animal is also a deer.  Knowing my nature, both make sense to me.  Deer are gentle and kind and move through life with grace.  When I am in alignment with my soul’s calling, this is my true nature.

In seeing the three deer at that moment, as I did, gave me a sense of the presence of the Divine. I also felt the perfection of that moment and a knowing that I was exactly where I was supposed to be.  It was like they came out just to let me know they were there.  It was a beautiful gift from Spirit.

A Visit with another Deer - photo by Leah Schroeder

Connection with Another Deer – photo by Leah Schroeder

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 47 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 16 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder and tagged , , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

Leave a Reply

