On a Wing and a Prayer


I completed a painting I’d been struggling with about a month ago. It is one of the bigger ones I’ve attempted and even though it took months of going back and forth and then finally letting it unfold, I am fairly satisfied with it now and it has evolved into something quite different than how it started. Its always a journey..manifested to unmanifested and back again. I titled it “Prayer Incarnate.”

"Prayer Incarnate" by Jennifer Bothast

“Prayer Incarnate” by Jennifer Bothast

I like the idea of energy flying together to create recognizeable form. It reminds me also of a poem I had found many years ago by Maya Angelou. I had to really search for it, but it felt so important, I kept coming back to it. Here it is:

ARRIVAL

Angels gather.

The rush of mad air

cyclones through.

Wing tips brush the hair,

a million strands

stand; waving black anemones.

Hosannahs crush the shell’s ear tender,

and tremble

down clattering to the floor.

Harps sound,

undulate their sensuous meanings.

Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

You

beyond the door.

~Maya Angelou

This poem just makes me FEEL good, y’know? It is so warm and beautiful and alive. It is how I have been feeling lately. I am so grateful for all that life is bringing forth in lessons and beauty with all its contrast and kindness, and available miracles. Can you feel it?

I hope you take a little piece of that with you, dear reader, as you start your day.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

Leave a Reply

