Into the Morning


Beyond the thrill of a new relationship is the deeper connection couples can form when their understanding of each other deepens. Sharing perspectives and helping each other step out of ego and flourish is something that often takes time. It is the beginning of transforming what Marianne Williamson calls “the special relationship” into a “holy relationship.”

I wrote this poem one morning while making pancakes for breakfast for the kids. Creativity often speaks louder and flows for me when I am busy doing something else like taking a shower or driving the car, or I guess, making breakfast. It is like I can give my egoic mind something else to occupy it so it doesn’t get in the way. Anyway, there is a lot of truth in these words for me. I hope it speaks to you as well.

Into the Morning

The sharp air stood heavily

Beckoning the mist from the pond like angels

Ascending into heaven while

The sun rose sleepily along the waters edge

Stretching and yawning against each blade of grass

And onto the backs of the worker ants who march on

Unaware.

You said I greet the day like an unwelcomed stranger

Creaking open the comforter with eyes steeled tight.

But you spring open easily

Casting out the darkness and grateful for each drawn breath

Halted only in the anticipation of each moment

Like catching a glimpse of something unexpected

A tarpon out of water or a sudden flash

Of the cardinal’s breast sparking past.

I love you I say with a twinkle in my sigh

And you grab your keys to go

Pecking my cheek as you pass with confidence.

Your car door grunts and cleans the last step off the drive

While I tread over each bathroom tile, careful to avoid the cracked one.

I listen for its whisper as the inner workings of the plumbing underground

Yields the clear pond water inside with the simple decision to turn a knob.

I stiffly bend my knees into the hot shower

Tentatively exposing the still forming scabs from yesterday

It  feels good

And I allow them to soften.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 42 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

 

7 thoughts on “Into the Morning

  1. Jennifer, i loved this, it moves me, is that your art work too? I love how you capture the divine within the every day workings of a relationship. Pure beautiful. xxxx

  2. Wow..umm..I am humbled and grateful that you all were moved. I don’t know why this still suprises me when it happens, but it does. Thank you all for your kind words. Ellen..yes..the painting is mine too..a depiction of witnessing my first sunrise at the beach. I wanted to capture the contrast between the calm rhythmic waves and the almost frenetic energy of waiting for the sun to appear in the sky. The poem for me is about settling into a relationship beyond the honeymoon phase and learning to also be comfortable in my own skin. It is a process to be sure.

    • yes! it really resonates with me, I am in the honeymoon stage still, but we are soon moving in together, I am looking forward to the next stage!! And the painting is divine! Talented lady! xx

  3. Jennifer, I loved this so much. It brought back memories of my first months with my children’s father. Precious times that will never be again. Thank you so much! And please please keep sharing your beautiful paintings. They are inspiring 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

