HOW TO TURN ON YOUR POWER OF INTUITION


HOW TO TURN ON YOUR POWER OF INTUITION! by Kara Johnstad TUNE IN to your INTUITION You already own it, the power of intuition! You carry it with you every day and have it in your possession 24/7. It is one of the most powerful tools you could ever wish for and it comes free of charge. There for your taking. If you are clever, you will listen to it before you move. It’s like your very own built in “Intuitive Positioning System”. What do you need to do to understand it and use it to guide you in your business, and your life?  It is this simple: TUNE IN to your INTUITION!

“The intellect has little to do on the road to discovery.

There comes a leap in consciousness, call it intuition or what you will,

and the solution comes to you and you don’t know how or why.”

Albert Einstein

In this ever so busy multi-tasking modern day world, you may find your INTUITION to be one of your strongest allies.

There are a few simple methods that help you to start TUNING IN:

First of all: intuition has nothing to do with supernatural powers. Intuition is simply an extension of our natural self.

Just relax, be open, and listen to your inner voice.

With some focus and practice, your intuition will become clearer and stronger. Just like whenever you learn something new, it’s helpful to practice it every day in order to become skilled and confident. Simply start by paying more attention to that quiet whisper in the back of your mind nudging you in a particular direction.

Then, you may want to start honoring that quiet voice deep within you by voicing it, writing it down in a journal or speaking and recording it with any audio program. I’m using an app on my phone that I use if I get a great idea in the middle of the market place. I simply push audio memo, sing in the melody or record the message I am hearing; and when I get home I put it into my journal.

The Japanese call it “stomach art.”  

We normally just say, trusting your gut instincts.

I personally would hear a “lovely voice” whispering me the solutions, or should I say “soul”-utions, and yet, more often than not, I would choose not to follow it because I felt a bit silly speaking into a phone knowing that nobody was on the other end, and sillier yet, when I would use that fine cloth napkin, while having a romantic dinner, to jot down quick impressions on the spur of the moment, because my date had just said a line that made me think of the title for the love song I had been writing.

I would say to that voice: “OK, OK, I hear you, but you’ll have to wait”!

Then, by the time I got home I would often have forgotten it or not trusted it any more.

Try on a new perspective.

My intuition would urge me to release an album of unplugged songs. Of course, I’d ignore it because I have had already INVESTED in my dream of a big band show at that time.

What to say, two years later and a lot wiser, I would finally let go of that “big band show experience” and start voicing my ideas of an intimate “unplugged concert.”  Then I would look up  my journals from two years ago, or a friend would kindly remind me, that I actually had that idea already mentioned, way before.

“A good artist lets his intuition lead him wherever it wants.”

Lao-Tzu

As an artist, it is impossible to build anything sustainable if there’s a “should” at the foundation. There are moments when I would silently want to kick myself for all that time I had not let go of an idea of how things were “supposed to be” and instead could have tried on a new perspective serving the “yippee” and longings of my heart.

Tune in every day.

Following your inner voice and intuition isn’t some “airy-fairy” concept that has no place in your life and your business. It’s the exact opposite! Well, that is, if you’re interested in making a difference in this world and running a successful business, as a heart-based entrepreneur.

I learned it the hard way, that the time it takes to TUNE IN every day, would then actually save me much more time and energy on the other end. It may sound like a lot of effort to invest, to take time aside for meditating or keeping a journal every day, but this is time and effort spent wisely and the returns are manyfold.


“People with high levels of personal mastery cannot afford

to choose between reason and intuition, or head and heart,

any more than they would choose to walk on one leg or see with one eye.”

Peter Senge

Now, I allow myself to be guided more and more intuitively where I should put my energy and where not, which projects I should invest in and which ones are not in alignment with my core values; as an artist my writing and performing comes from a deep flow.

Many of my clients that take part in my Voice Your Essence™ program are enthusiastically telling me of changes they are encountering in their lives after they’ve started tuning regularly into their “inner voice.” Some of them changed their direction of work, others picked up the phone and called someone they had in their heart for weeks; but had not found the time to call or drop them a note, and others realized that unless they started acknowledging where they really wanted to be from the depth of their being, they would continue to walk in circles and stay in overwhelm.

Weirdly enough, when we make very close friends with our inner voice,

we feel like we are on target. This feeling of being IN TUNE makes us

automatically shift away from SHOULDS and into EUREKA!

Here’s my gift to you!


These are my 3 TOP KEY EXERCISES

from my Voice Your Essence™ program that will help you to 

TUNE IN, and HONOR, and TRUST your INNER VOICE.   

 

1.    Morning Pages 

2.    One Minute Meditation  

3.    Sleep On It 

MORNING PAGES

Your Morning pages will be three pages of writing (long hand) anything that comes to your head. I was first introduced to this exercise by Julia Cameron, way back in the 80’s, when I started practicing my Morning Pages, just like she suggested, as part of her ARTIST’S WAY training.

The trick is, to connect your pen to the paper and not lift it!

Do not think about it.

The point is, to simply keep writing whatever comes along, and not to write incredibly elaborate prose or your next book. It really doesn’t matter what you note down, it doesn’t have to make any sense, and I suggest NOT TO RE-READ your text for a few months.

Your daily Morning Pages routine may soon feel like taking a morning shower. You will feel refreshed and ready for your day: Just like taking a shower, writing will have a refreshing and cleansing effect for your heart, mind, and soul.

Writing in the freshness of the early morning, before the rest of the world

awakens, is one of the most TRANSFORMATIONAL TUNING IN exercises I know.

ONE MINUTE STOP MEDITATION

THIS is one of my absolute FAVES! Start by doing this very simple method at least six times a day. It takes only half a minute each time so it is three minutes a day. It is the shortest meditation in the world!!!

Walking on the street (make sure you stay clear from cars and crowds of people) – notice you’re thinking of a zillion things; this is the perfect moment to remind yourself to STOP.

Stop completely whatever you were doing at this moment.

Don’t move. Just be present for half a minute.

Then continue on with your day to day things.

Whatsoever the situations, stop completely, simply stay present and become aware of what is happening in and around you. Repeat this six times a day. You can do it more often, but never less than 6 times a day. It has to be done suddenly! If you SUDDENLY stop and practice to stay present, this will bring much opening.

SLEEP ON IT

BEING WELL RESTED helps us find new ideas and clues to how to continue on the path.

Next time you have a song to write or an important question to solve, don’t fret and lose sleep over a difficult decision. Make yourself comfortable and let your intuition “percolate”. Right before tucking in, write down the question you are working on. Then turn off the lights and get a good rest.

Your intuitive solution will often rise to the surface with the morning sun.

Have a piece of paper and pen handy to jot down the answers or vision.

This is an exciting journey!

You will walk a little lighter. Your mind will be more focused on the task(s) at hand. Your thinking will be clearer. Your heart will be more open — so you may find yourself more patient or less irritated with the day’s events.

“Be brave enough to live creatively. The creative is the place where  

no one  else has ever been. You have to leave the city of your comfort and

go  into the wilderness of your intuition. You cannot get there by bus,

only by hard work, risking and by not quite knowing what you are doing.   

What you will discover will be wonderful: Yourself.”

 Alan Alda

For 2012, I wish for you to continue to discover more and more pieces of your brilliant self.  TUNE IN and Live Your Inner Gifts. The world as a whole is a wondrous place to live in and thrive in.

Stay Gold,

Kara

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Kara Johnstad is a creative visionary, transformational catalyst and a powerful voice in the time and age of transition. She is a singer / songwriter, creator of The Essence Radio Show™, and founder of the Voice Your Essence Mastery Program™. If you are ready to take your voice and your world to the next level, visit www.karajohnstad.com and sign up for a F.R.E.E. subscription of her weekly eZine.

This entry was posted in Emotions, Kara Johnstad, Spirit, Women and tagged by karajohnstad. Bookmark the permalink.

About karajohnstad

Kara Johnstad is a creative visionary, transformational catalyst and a powerful voice in the time and age of transition. She is a singer / songwriter, creator of The Essence Radio Show™, and founder of the Voice Your Essence™ Mastery Program. Leading change agents, healers, personal development speakers and others recognize her as being a unique source of powerful truth and wisdom. As a top voice expert she has helped thousands with her "break-through" voice techniques and shares with us the secrets behind this powerful instrument and the role the human voice plays in fine tuning our Mind-Body-Spirit systems. Kara connects each and every week with subscribers from around the world via her Voice Your Essence™ eZine. Enjoy listening to Kara's soulful music as part of your daily ritual of reconnecting to source or jump onto the next level and experience personally the power of your true authentic voice with Kara Johnstad's VoiceYour Essence™ Mastery Program

4 thoughts on “HOW TO TURN ON YOUR POWER OF INTUITION

  1. Kara, thank you so much for sharing this. I have always understood how important our intuition is, but these are some really great ideas about how to tune into it. I love the little meditation idea! I am going to do it today 🙂

  2. Great article Kara! I’ve been working on this daily and meditating 3 times a day. I try to remember to practice being in the present moment every time my stinkin’ thinkin’ kicks in as it’s impossible to be in the “now” and beat yourself up at the same time. It had been very hard for me to realize when my “little voice” was speaking and finally one day it dawned on me. Every time I caught myself (ego) arguing “with” myself (little voice) I knew I needed to pay attention to only the little voice. Hope that little tip helps others struggling to realize when they need to stop and listen. I’ll definitely be taking more mini breaks every day now too. Thanks!

    • ooo as a singer I simply loved knowing that your little voice was you and not your ego… so, sing… and voice and discover that beautiful voice…The voice – a place between heart and mind.. between inner and outer worlds… a very special dwelling place… a place I call home… here’s to being explorers..

Leave a Reply

