Me and The Dragonfly


A few years ago, I took a day away from my work for a personal spiritual retreat.  I spent the day at an aboriginal leadership and cross cultural retreat centre, a short distance from the city of Winnipeg.  There were no groups visiting the centre, so aside from their staff, I had the grounds to myself.

This centre was located on 36 acres of wooded parkland along a river.  There were several buildings on the site including a lodge, cabins, and a meditation hut.  There was a particular area I was asked not to go, where they maintained a site for a sweat lodge.  The weather that day was mixed.  It was warmer in the morning, and became windier with misty rain later in the morning.  By afternoon the rain stopped.

I spent my day at various places throughout this site:  a wooded area with a bench by a part of the river that had gently running rapids; another spot by the river where the water was calm, I shared the serenity of that space with some cows in a pasture across the river; the meditation hut – an opportunity to get out of the wind and the rain for a little while; and a clearing in the woods.  I read, I wrote in my journal and spent time in meditation.

Early in the afternoon, as I was seated on a bench by the calm part of the river, reading, a dragonfly landed on the top edge of my book.  It stayed with me for a long time, watching me, and I it.  Every time I would turn the page, the dragonfly would lift up its front legs and move them to the top of the next page, as if to hold the book open for me.  We stayed together for at least 15 to 20 minutes.  When I was ready to put my book down, it moved to my arm for a little while.  When it was ready to leave, a gust of wind carried it away.

To this day, I have an affinity for dragonflies.  I have pictures or ornaments of dragonflies in almost every room of my home.  In the summer, when I am out walking or cycling, it brings me a lot of joy to see them dancing about in the air.

Dragonflies have become an important spiritual symbol in my life.  The dragonfly, symbolizes change and transformation; and the kind of change that has its source in mental and emotional maturity and the understanding of the deeper meaning of life.  The image of a Dragonfly scurrying across water represents an act of going beyond what’s on the surface and looking into the deeper implications and aspects of life.  The iridescent qualities of the dragonfly represent self- discovery and removing the doubts one casts on his/her own sense of identity.  Their eyes symbolize the uninhibited vision of the mind and the ability to see beyond the limitations of the human self.

My life, over the past several years, and especially in the last year, has been all about transformation and self-discovery.  Maybe that spring day, my experience with the Dragonfly, was my Spirit Guides or Angels somehow letting me know they were with me as I continued along my journey.

There have been moments, when my boyfriend has asked me to send him healing energy, and where ever he was at that moment a dragonfly appeared and he knew I was there in spirit and felt comforted by that.

As we journey together may you experience transformation, self-discovery and deep healing.  When you see a Dragonfly, may it remind you of this and know that we are all connected in spirit.

Leah

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I am a Reiki Practitioner  www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor.  I  was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.  For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families.  A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki.  I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world.  I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you. Leah Schroeder

 

This entry was posted in Leah Schroeder, Uncategorized and tagged , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

5 thoughts on “Me and The Dragonfly

  1. Beautiful story Leah..I really like that you were thoughtful enough to include the details of the day..the weather and the colors and such..it helped put me right there with you so that I could feel the closenesss of the connection with the dragonfly holding the pages of the book. Very special..thank you for sharing

  2. I Love the dragonfly…yes beautifully written Leah and I enjoyed that you put in the message of what you learned dragonfly symbolizes. I can add that it is the symbol of light and seeing through the illusion that we are seperate..I have a story of this I\ll share at the sisterhood group.
    Blessings,
    Margarit

  3. Leah, what a gift not only to have the experience but to share it.Your lovely story with its deeps of meaning. Thank you fr reminding us that nature is full of messengers if we are open to them.

  4. Pingback: who’s responsible for blaming? (in sweat lodge criminal case) « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

