Al-Arbe’in Valley


That night, I had a strong urge to go for a walk in “Al-Arbe’in Valley” in Saint Cathrine City (in Egypt) where I was spending a few days. It was a moonless night. I took the path to the valley feeling the bliss and joy of fulfilling a soul desire.

As I started, I got my pendulum out to heal myself, then I decided to keep on walking as long as the pendulum is moving. I decided that my pendulum would be my guide. Instantly after that decision, all bits of fear vanished. I kept walking in joy and pride pushing any possibly approaching fear away. I could only hear my footsteps on the gravel ground and my sight could only figure out how to avoid stumbling over large stones.

I looked behind, the light of the city was getting further. Watching my steps didn’t give me much chance to watch my surroundings so I stopped every now and then to gaze at the magnificent view of the stars.

I took another glimpse behind me. I could not see the city light by now! It was dark, nothing was visible but the edges of the mountains appearing with the faded light from the city. I looked at the pendulum, it was still moving! I must be crazy walking in the middle of nowhere where my sight  can hardly figure out the path. My only source of light came from the stars yet I still wanted to proceed and the pendulum confirmed my feelings.

I went on, again pushing potential fear away. I decided not to look back again as it provoked fear. How am I going to go back all that way?! I instantly answered myself: ‘just as I came in’! And I proceeded walking through the darkness.

I looked at my sides, I saw shades of darkness that could be of giant stones or my own imagination! I looked ahead, I could see nothing further than a few meters. Far away I saw shades of light that seemed to me like divine light! A spot of white faded light with no focus coming from the middle of the mountains. Whatever it was, it boosted my courage! I kept on walking thinking I could reach Moses’ Stone that I visited before. When I suspected I was there, I used the torch light option on my cell phone but it wasn’t it. Oh! No cell phone coverage here! Shall I go back? Not yet! I walked for a while more, then I had a feeling I could be lost. I used the torch light again; I saw a wall of stones right next to me. I checked the pendulum; it stopped. I shall rest here then. I found a stone that looked comfy to sit on. I looked up at the stars and mountain tops, what a marvelous scene…  but I decided to lay back. What a view! What a feeling! The sound of silence surrounding me; the feeling of safety, serenity and bliss is all over me. What a bliss it is to experience such a place and moments. “God, please take away my blindness and my blockages” was all I wanted to ask for and I kept repeating my prayers “please take away my blindness and my blockages”. My biggest concern was not to be fooled again. I wanted to be able to walk lightly in light through life.

I spent moments laying on my back that I wanted to last forever! But I felt I should start heading back. I got up in bliss and started walking back again enjoying the sound played by my footsteps and the gravel path.

`Suddenly I saw a wall that might have Moses’ Stone behind. I used my torch light; I was right. I went in and I couldn’t believe the fact that I walked passed it. I had a quick look at it and I repeated my prayers then I proceeded back.

I started to see my walk in the valley as my walk in life. I related my walk to walking through this new age in 2012.I guess I need to focus on my life steps and not worry about anything else. Looking back provoked fear, looking to my sides was a useless distraction. Looking further than my steps was a waste of time. My focus should be forced on my little steps, one step at a time, a step leading the following, forming a beautiful journey..

Our life journey is about following our inner calls and taking little steps ahead!

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I’m Neveen El-Gamal, an Egyptian 40 years old single mom. I’m a writer, a Reiki and an Emotrance practitioner. I have a published poetry book in Arabic in August 2010 titled “Freeing You from Me”.

I am very grateful to have met the lovely women in the sisterhood group and participate in The Daily Sisterhood.

5 thoughts on “Al-Arbe’in Valley

  1. I find you inspirational, thank for writing about this journey as many of our journeys are about walking into the dark and facing and casting away the fear of the journey.
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

