40 Days


I was recently introduced to a little book called ‘The Abundance Book’ by John Randolph Price. It comes with 10 daily meditations. One is required to meditate on each thought and affirmation for at least 15 minutes every day for a total of 40 days.

They are deep and spiritual meditations on the nature of abundance. I felt the need to take something quite intense like this on board in order to get to the very deep core and root of my persistent financial struggles. I know there is a general feeling of, oh there are no jobs, oh the economy, oh you have to hustle, oh you need to work work work yourself silly. All kinds of different fixed societal and personal beliefs around money. For me, for several years now, working with the law of attraction and deep soul searching and healing, I knew and know that abundance is about a lot more than the paper or the gold. However, I truly believe that all kinds of abundance, the green paper kind too, is available to all of us. And it’s really not to do with your job or your qualifications or the state of the economy.

Marianne Williamson, in her new book, The Law of Divine Compensation, says: ‘If your mind is in a loving place – if your thoughts are of a high divine vibration – your experience will reflect that . If your mind is in a fearful place – your experience will reflect that. The way to change the nature of your experience is to change the nature of your thoughts. Seeking to solve a problem merely on the level of effect is not a true solution but only a temporary fix.’

This absolutely applies to money and one’s relationship with it. If you are always in a fearful place about money or lack thereof, it is pretty hard to create an abundance of it, and/or hold on to that abundance. I know that abundance comes from within. I have no doubts about that. And yet, living in this world, and in my personal situation, I have often felt frustrated and scared and surrounded by lack, by not enough and by running out. I have been determined to effect a paradigm shift within myself and my world around money, my thought patterns and therefore my overall prosperity – hence this book.

The book makes it clear that the 40 days have to be consecutive. 40 being a symbolic amount of time, that which Jesus spent in the wilderness. If you miss a day, you must go back to the start. I got to 21 at first, this was big and resulted in a commitment to give up drinking wine. Then I missed a day. Started again and got to day 7. Started again and got to day 8. Phew. As someone who has been meditating for years I was shocked that I seemed to be unable to stick to it EVERY day consecutively. This in itself was revealing. Discipline. Commitment. I was in the process of telling myself it was ok to miss a day here and there and I was just going to continue till I got to 40, but then one of my friends from the Sisterhood, Lizelle Le Roux, said she would like to join me on the 40 days. So we started together at Day 1! This support has been invaluable in committing every single day to the meditation and we are now on day 29.

Day 40 will be the 1st of May. I can tell you it has been an absolutely mind boggling and soul stirring and revelationary and hard and easy and fulfilling and challenging process. So far. Some of the testimonies in the book talk about wonderous changes in their finances at this point in the process. Of salary raises and checks landing on their doorsteps. For my part shifts of a purely financial nature, have been subtle and modest. I secured a part time job which has eased my situation. And bits and bobs of other little income possibilities are trickling in, keeping me afloat – nothing dramatic.

However – there have been dramatic shifts in my own relationship with myself. I have found that there have been big resentment and forgiveness issues lying deep within. How can I attract and embrace abundance if I am still furious over something that happened when I was 15? How can I attract abundance when a recurring self sabotaging thought pattern seems to threaten my very existence. This 40 day adventure is intense. It is unearthing many deep wounds and false beliefs. I am releasing and I am learning. Huge shifts have occurred since I began this process – such as a commitment to give up alcohol. I am wading through mud it feels sometimes. I am in the wilderness. But I will keep wading. I will. And I am shedding and releasing blocks to abundance as I go. And I see abundance more and more clearly as I go on. I know now that I am abundance.

by ellen

by ellen

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a Doctor of Applied Theatre. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

Leave a Reply

