One (Wo)man’s Treasure…


These situations often created the necessity for me to put many of my possessions into storage. While I always had the intention of getting them out, there were times when my financial situation got in the way of my intentions. Over the last 15 years, I have lost the contents of three storage units.

Surprisingly, even to myself, I was able to accept most of the losses without too much anguish. They had often been in storage for so long that I had forgotten what was in them, as they were filled mostly with “things” that I had acquired over the years. As for the ones that were memories of my childhood and those of my children, I consoled myself with the thoughts that at least I still had my family, and any number of natural disasters could have resulted in the same losses.

Finally, it seemed like everyone was settled in their own places, and I was able to get my things out of storage. I had moved to a one bedroom apartment, and the boxes took over half of my living room, nearly top to bottom. It was quite overwhelming; so overwhelming, that I kept procrastinating, finding other things to do. The boxes had been in storage for over two years, and I had probably already replaced everything I had an immediate need for. I was used to crowded living, so the confinement wasn’t really bothering me. I was making do.

One day, I looked at the boxes, trying to talk myself into diving in. I tried many verbal tactics from attacking my own shortcomings and calling myself names, to patting myself on the back for finally getting my belongings home, but none of them worked.  Thus far, I had plenty of reasons to HAVE to do it, but actually WANTING to was a different matter. After a while, I walked outside, looked up at the sky, and said, “Help me. Give me a reason to want to do this.”

I went back inside and sat down at my computer, my back to the boxes. Before I even moved the mouse, one word popped into my head: treasure.  I have been reading self-help and motivational books for many years, and one of the main things I keep running into is the phrase “Change your thoughts, change your life.” It suddenly dawned on me that I had been looking at the boxes as a chore to be done. If I changed my perspective, it would change my feelings about the boxes.

I had heard about a television show that was based upon people bidding for the contents of storage units that had been confiscated when the owner didn’t pay their storage bill for whatever reason. The people who bought the contents of a storage unit weren’t just buying boxes of “stuff” to just put away somewhere in their home. As the saying goes, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, and they were looking for treasure.

So, I looked around and envisioned the boxes enveloped in a beautiful golden light. Here in my living room were boxes full of treasure; my treasure. This new perspective had given me a reason to want to go through the boxes, just like I had asked for only minutes ago. I went through 10 boxes that day, and had a great time doing it. I still have a lot to go, but I find myself enjoying the time, choosing to look upon it as recapturing the moments of my life I had put away, rather than as a chore that must be done.

What treasure will you find within a task or a chore that you have been procrastinating with? The treasure is there. You only have to choose to see it.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

7 thoughts on “One (Wo)man’s Treasure…

  1. Great idea ! … have to put it in to practice for myself ! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂 !

  2. And when you get through them all remember in the end it is just stuff. It isn’t you, or your memories. You have all that in you, not in a box, treasure or not. I love that you were able to ask for help though and get the inspiration you needed to get the work done. A much needed reminder!

  3. I, too am a lifetime caregiver. I recently lost my friend and family…I’m still missing him terribly. I also take care of someone in a wheelchair and the time requirements can be quite demanding. I was thinking I would retire this year but the.government is going to make that impossible not to mention my health is starting to get in the way. But caregiving in the trenches must go on….
    Love and light always

Leave a Reply

