Softness


I recently listened to an interview with Jennifer McLean on the subject of The Sacred Chamber – Connecting with Your Highest Self. It was part of the Recovery 2.0 seminar. She talked about many profound ways to connect with your highest self and deal with this life and relationships and the world and the divine….but my biggest take away and learning and revelation came from a guided meditation she took us through, based on finding, locating and being in your ‘sacred chamber’.

She asked us to put our hand over our heart and really feel in our body and behind and just below our hearts. I closed my eyes and allowed this feeling to pour over me. I could feel it! I could feel this deep place within that may be my sacred chamber.

I am very open to guided meditation, visualization and magical happenings as a result. A beautiful teacher who has recently passed over, Robert Henry, a gifted tarot reader and magic man from Belfast, once took me and some others on a meditation with the tarot card ‘the fool’. I can tell you I went through a portal in a beautiful tree, met myself as a crone and danced with the Goddess herself through a dusky night sky swirling and twinkling with the stars. There is so much deep and divine universal guidance available to us if we are open enough to listen and be guided….

Jennifer guided me to a deep place within myself where I located my sacred chamber…she guided us to imagine what it looked and felt like – hers being a beautiful light filled cathedral. Mine was a deep mossy earthy place…it was small and dark at first, but as I relaxed more and more into the experience, it revealed itself to be expansive and filled with fire and passageways and warmth, and safety and adventure….

She said it was very lovely to just ‘hang out’ here and connect on a daily basis. I will definitely be putting this into my meditations. Then she said you can also ask questions here – it’s a direct connection to the divine, to your inner self, God, whatever you want to call it, and you can ask questions here. She coached that a good first question to ask might be, ‘what is my next step?’.

This resonated with me, as I’m sure it will many others. I am making lots of big choices right now…so I asked the question. At first the answer wasn’t clear. She coached that it can be very practical, like, stop smoking or address your finances…but it can be more abstract….after a few seconds I heard a word VERY clearly.. and it literally came out of nowhere. It’s not a topic or a word I had been thinking of in relation to anything.

The word was SOFTNESS. mmm softness…..almost immediately I understood. I can be so hard. On myself and on others. I can contract so fast, shut down so quick. Jump to the worst possible scenario. Jump down my loved ones’ throats. My body can get hard and tense fast. I have to consciously relax my jaw and skull from tension every day and night. I can harden myself against a situation, a person. I can be hard on myself about money, about progress – this all amounts to RESISTANCE!

The guidance from my heart’s chamber couldn’t be clearer! Expand, be soft, softly softly, relax, be easy, chill, breathe…..this is my next step and I am so grateful.

sacred heart

sacred heart

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a Doctor of Applied Theatre. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

One thought on “Softness

Leave a Reply

