Controlling the X factor…


French philosopher Teilhard de Chardin said, “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience”. While I understand this deep within my soul, there are some times when I allow my physical body’s condition to hinder my understanding. I am still just a spiritual baby who has not yet wrapped my mind completely around the concept that I am creating my own reality.

When I feel good physically, it seems easier to remain spiritual, but when I am tired or in pain I have a tendency to focus more on getting better physically. So, just in case you have the same issue once in awhile, I feel the need to write about the requirements of our soul’s vehicle while we are having this human experience.

If you knew me personally, you would know that math is not my strongest subject, but for the purpose of this post I wanted to create a mathematical equation that shows how the quality of the air we breathe, the food we eat, and the water we drink, determines the quality of our physical life. So, I asked a friend from work to help me. This is the equation she came up with:

(X)quality of (air+food+water)=(X)quality of life.

Her equation said exactly what I wanted it to say, attributing the determining factor of the quality of life as the X factor. I believe the X factor to be the level of toxins in our air, food, and water. The more toxins, the more toxic our lives would be, but fewer toxins would create a healthier physical experience.

While it is possible to control some of the toxins we introduce into our physical bodies, there are some that are more difficult. For example, we cannot control the amount of toxic emissions caused by manufacturing plants. We cannot control the chemicals sprayed on our produce or the hormones fed to the animals we consume. We cannot control what is being dumped into our water supply.

It’s not like we haven’t been trying, though. We have been talking for decades about the pollution of our world, and there are a lot of anti-this and anti-that groups, so why isn’t it getting any better? The answer is free enterprise, which is defined as “Business governed by the market forces of demand and supply, unrestrained by undue government interference through excessive controls and regulations” by Businessdictionary.com

I think a good example of free enterprise is the production, sales, and marketing of bottled water. I can’t say for sure how it started, but it was probably a news article that first promoted the information that tap water has so many toxins it may not be safe to drink. All of a sudden there was an abundance of companies selling bottled water.

We bought them; believing the hype about bottled water being safer to drink than tap water, yet it was later disclosed that some of the water in the bottles was actually just tap water.

Now, with the bottle inventory growing in the landfills and plumes of toxins filling the skies from the manufacturing plants, we, the consumers, have been charged as being the culprits who are killing the environment by using these environmentally unfriendly water bottles. The problem is actually two fold. First, that the manufactures are still allowed to produce and sell them “unrestrained by undue government interference”, and second, we are still buying them.

Mother Teresa said: “I will never attend an anti-war rally; if you have a peace rally, invite me”. Maybe we need to change to a more positive method to effect a positive change. As long as we are still buying and using what is being produced, there will be no motivation to change either the products or the production methods.

Our thoughts are the power we use to change ourselves spiritually, but the power to change our physical world is Purchasing Power. We can use our purchasing power to have more control over the toxins in our personal environments simply by changing the kinds of purchases we make. Nothing will make manufacturers change their products or production methods faster than the bottom line: demand and supply.

Using your purchasing power to make more thoughtful choices and take control of the X factor in your human experience will greatly enhance your spiritual experience. I will explain some of the changes I have made with my purchasing power that have improved my physical experience in future posts. I look forward to sharing them with you and hope to learn from you as well.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

2 thoughts on “Controlling the X factor…

  1. So true Laura. Many people complain as if they don’t have the power to change it but we, especially women, have the power of the purse. We do much more of the shopping and economizing in general than men do. Thank you for sharing your perspective!

Leave a Reply

