Surrender


Now, more than any time in my life I am being called to surrender. I am being called softly, quietly and urgently to surrender to God in every aspect of my life. I will not go into the semantics of the word God – suffice to say, your own perception, be it Spirit, Universe, Goddess, the moon, the sun or the stars is perfect for you at this point in your journey….I have come full circle to the word God having embraced it as a child, rejected it, and come back to it through all of the previous names. I love and use all of them, but God seems more and more appropriate and God is the word I choose to use here.

My whole life really has involved some struggle or another, school, friendships, romance, finance, single parenthood, intense feelings of separation and loneliness, discontent, splashes of pure joy, wonder, miracles and hope, but a deep sense of lack.

I found paganism and witchcraft a wonderful channel back to spirit. It gave form and purpose to a faltering heart and soul. The Landmark Forum was also invaluable and I learned life lessons there I will never lose – it rubbed out big bad stains from my past and offered me a clean slate which I grasped joyfully. Louise Hay, ‘You Can Heal Your Life’ was my bible for a while and many many books and teachers followed: Gabrielle Bernstein, Esther and Gerry Hicks, Arielle Ford, Marianne Williamson, Mastin Kipp, Ekhart Tolle, Anthony Robbins, Mike Dooley – the list goes on and on and on my breakthrough book in regaining my comfort around the word God was ‘A Course In Miracles’,….it is a book of miracles no doubt.

I saw first hand the power and magic I possessed. Spells made by the full moon worked, without a shadow of doubt. A misguided spell back fired like a boomerang – lesson truly learned. I learned how to manifest – money, holidays, romance, love, adventure…..and some very very profound events, like meeting my future husband, like moving countries – these were events I planned and dreamt and manifested, although I could never have imagined the exact details of these manifestations.

Now though I am being called at the most profound level to surrender. To surrender all attempts at control. I can hold a vision for my life and my mantra is:

“I am co-creating a flexible, abundant and healthy life full of love, support, family , fulfillment and trust.”

I am certainly called to action, surrender is not passive. Surrender is, ‘God, please use me. Use me to be of highest service to the world and all those I come into contact with, show me how to be of the best possible use to this world.’ In this way, my career, my life my decisions and choices are guided by the hand of God.

Miracles are happening already. I thank the heavens above for this journey, this slow unfolding and revealing of the truth. I am truly blessed. Thank you and Amen.

022

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a Doctor of Applied Theatre. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

Leave a Reply

