Happy Anniversary Daily Sisterhood


We celebrate all sorts of anniversaries in our culture; wedding anniversaries, birthdays, and various holidays are met with often joyous and mindful reverence. Today marks the one year anniversary of the publishing of The Daily Sisterhood blog. I am surprised and honored that my post just happens to fall on this occasion and I can’t let this day go by without honoring it with recognition and celebration.

For myself, I have been active on the internet for several years mostly through social media and a chat room or two. Being naturally shy and soft spoken, connecting through the computer meant I could share my inner most thoughts and desires without having to look anyone in the eye or hearing the sound of my own voice through my self- inflicted cynical judgment. I could be me but with a cyber shield of protection.

Being on the internet also gave me broader access to daily learning opportunities. In some ways I am reflected in one of those commercials I saw on tv recently exhibiting a victim of search engine overload. One thought leading to a search with an answer that led to more questions and more searches. It was through this cyber exploration that I found myself listening to a feminine power tele-seminar . I don’t remember any topic from the seminar being of particular excitement or ignited inspiration, but when it was over, there was an opportunity to connect with other participants from around the globe through a forum on facebook. It was through my brief participation in this forum that the Daily Sisterhood group was founded. Lydia Gonzales Moreno boldly formed this subgroup and invited me to join.

At first I was a little skeptical, but again, I had my cyber pseudo anonymity, so really, what did I have to lose? And so this small closed group formed over the next few days and women from all over the globe introduced themselves to each other and as they were comfortable, we began to share our life stories, struggles, inspirations and aspirations. We posted various things we had read, heard of, or learned from past experiences and we boosted each other up. Our trusting and shared vulnerability empowered us.

I posted some of my artwork, poetry and secrets, and before long someone from within the group proposed we write an e-book. Being something of a closeted writer for years, the idea of writing a collaborative book of inspiration sounded exciting! I thought it was probably also a little like a pipe dream, but hey if this group was determined to put something together, I absolutely wanted to be part of it.

Weeks and months went by with a few of us “core members” talking once in a while about how and when we could try to get our ideas together for this e-book but it never seemed like the right time. Eventually we decided to shelve the book idea and contribute to a group blog instead. Within a matter of weeks, The Daily Sisterhood Blog was born and 10 core writers filed into rotation, committing to writing about whatever personally inspired us, with our core theme being feminine empowerment with honest vulnerability and truth as valued strengths.

Today marks the anniversary of the coming together of this group of veritable strangers, writing and sharing in ways that formed a cohesive love and respect for one another I couldn’t have imagined when we started. We have learned from, and supported one another, and in publishing, have shared and learned from many of you, our readers. We have seen each other through difficulties with our jobs and our children. We have shared stories of engagements and divorces, financial struggles and coming to terms with our shadow selves.

After a year of this sharing, one of the biggest realizations has been how connected and alike we really are. We may come from different backgrounds, countries and cultures, but we are all like star points in a constellation.  We, the readers and the writers..we are all looking for the same exact thing aren’t we? Sometimes, it is just a small inspiration to read in the morning as we drink our coffee and feel like we’re struggling to just get through another day. Sometimes, we want to announce and share a major breakthrough in our quest for spiritual evolution. But in all, we’re just women..just spiritual beings having a human experience… each one of us of equal value and measure as the next.

We’re powerful not because of what we do or what we have learned, but because we are beginning to recognize the divinity in each of us at the most fundamental level.

In the beginning stages of our writing, there were some grand ideas of reaching the masses and someday being on Oprah’s stage talking about all we have learned together.  Even though that hasn’t happened yet and none of us writers are compensated for our efforts in monetary terms, what we have gained in the last year cannot be quantified that easily.

What has happened is that we reach out, every single day, and even if it is only for a few minutes, we share with you, and with each other and we remind ourselves of our beauty and value that is found through every struggle and celebration.

There have been a few times in the past year when I felt under the gun for a submission deadline and thinking why in the world was I doing this to myself, adding to my already full plate with yet another obligation? But as I sit here now, I am so incredibly grateful for the opportunities afforded me to be a part of this group. Whether it is ever outwardly recognized as such, being able to share though this blog with incredibly gifted individuals is increasingly cherished and liberating.

I recently had a dream that I was very pregnant and then went into labor. One good push and wallah! I had given birth to myself! Being part of this group has certainly been a big part of this leg of the journey.

In closing, I have to give a shout out to Vicki Willoughby, who does most of the editing and to Leah Schroeder, who takes time out of every day to link the publishing blogs to social media outlets. I marvel at your sacrifice and dedication in taking charge of all that in addition to your beautiful writings and juggling responsibilities with work and families. Thank you Sadie Fulton, who inspires me with her passion and big dreams, and moves me to tears while relating to her struggles. Thank you to Ellen Ann Burns for sharing her stories of love, commitment, and connection to her family, and for the wonderful links to beautifully inspiring teachers. Thank you Laura Mozer Davis for your wonderfully written and always poignant lessons in life stories; you are much more than you give yourself credit for. Thank you to Neveen El Gamel, who reports feeling guilty because she can’t always contribute on schedule, but whose value and sacrifice is unwavering. Thank you Kara Johnstad, who somehow finds time to share with us while also keeping up with her growing musical career, writing and performing and publishing her own newsletter. Thank you to Loesja Klimczak, who embodies our theme of strength in vulnerability, as she has shared her triumph over tragedy. Thank you to guest blogger, Sannanda whose freely shared prose is unwaveringly inspirational. And thank you to Shannon Holland and Kimberly Huxen for sharing your vision through your beautiful artwork.

Most of all, thank you readers, who take the time out of your busy day to read our humble thoughts and ideas and occasionally comment on our daily blogs. I love reading your feedback and knowing I may have touched someone’s heart that day. That is what this is all about isn’t it? Connecting to one another, raising each other up and sharing the beauty of who we all are?

“You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should” ~ Max Ehrmann. This is one of my favorite quotes and such a good reminder of our essence.

Happy 1st Anniversary The Daily Sisterhood blog, it certainly has been a good ride so far.

"Divinity in Light and Shadow"original acrylic on canvas painting by Jennifer Bothast

“Divinity in Light and Shadow”
original acrylic on canvas painting by Jennifer Bothast

2 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Daily Sisterhood

  1. jennifer, thank you soooo much, what a beautiful and fitting tribute – this moved me to tears! yayayaya US. really. we rock. xxxxx

Leave a Reply

