Not for the Faint of Heart


In this moment I am overflowing and speechless all at the same time. I’m really not sure where to start. I feel compelled to shout from the rooftops with something that no one wants to hear, much as a blond girl named Shelley I just watched on You Tube.

Shelley and I have something in common. She and I both watched Earthlings. If you’ve watched it then I’m probably preaching to the choir. If you haven’t then you there’s a link further down so you can check it out and draw your own conclusions.

I really feel stupid right now. When I was a teenager I had a friend who’s family had a local dairy farm. I went out and helped bail hay and load it up into the hay loft. I knew some of the cows by name and helped with some of the chores and it was all a very quaint country scene that is filled with cherished memories for me. I can’t believe I didn’t ever really put two and two together.

I’ve been a breast feeding mother and know that’s what’s best for my children, so its not a big leap when you have an industry asking you 16 times a day if you’ve Got Milk?, to think that its just a healthy thing right? For myself I know that an abundance of dairy gives me pimples and my son gets upper respiratory congestion so I had already cut out milk for drinking, in favor of almond milk or rice milk but we do still enjoy cheese, less and less ice cream there are alternatives and since watching Vegucated and seeing what stress animals go through before and during slaughter, we’re pretty much off meat as well.

I know slaughterhouse practices are horrific, I’m making changes in my life accordingly, but that is only part of the picture. I hadn’t actively realized til I heard Shelley speak about her mother having grown up on a dairy farm. She remembered that cows were not particularly upset the first time they gave birth because they didn’t know that their babies were going to be taken from them. With each progressive birth the cows got more and more upset and more and more violent with the impending birth because they knew that their calf was going to be taken away in favor of a machine to take its place. They would search around mournfully calling out for their little one.

OK, this is where the title becomes clear but I’m all in, so if you are faint of heart you might not want to keep reading, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Imagine you are born a female calf, you are stripped away from your mother to a separate area, maybe nearby enough so you can hear her calling to you but you can’t get to her and you don’t know what is going on. You are treated in ways that are unnatural to you, like being branded on the face with no anesthetic, until a man comes and mechanically rapes and impregnates you, you are chained in a pen until you’re ready to give birth and once you do, your baby is taken and you’re hooked up to a machine to have the milk drained out of you until the next pregnancy when the cycle begins again. You’re entirely drained of all vitality by the age of 4 at which point you’re drug from your pen to a slaughterhouse.

Now imagine you were born male, still stripped away from your mother and put in a small pen, tethered so you can’t even lay down or move around, they don’t want you to form supportive muscle because in 4 wks you’re going to be slaughtered for veal. I guess once again the males get off easy right?

Now imagine that cows have every bit as much consciousness as we do but they cannot speak. They can scream though, that doesn’t need translation. They can mourn, they can grieve, they can hurt and they can feel terror.

Even if you don’t believe that and you think they’re stupid animals, (which would say so much more about you than it does about animals) then consider this, casein is the main protein in cows milk. It is cancer causing in humans. It is an acidic protein and to try to neutralize it the body will use calcium. There’s not enough calcium in the milk to accomplish that so its leeched from our bones. In the mean time the total overage that we get between milk, cheese and other products we don’t think of, like milk chocolate or anything processed that milk was a part of, builds tumors.

To produce all that milk a baby calf must either be butchered without having a life, or raped into slavery, repeated pregnancy and exhausted death. What we are visiting on these animals with our purchase and consumption of these products is being visited back on us in the same process. Know anybody with any Mommy issues? Anybody with separation anxiety? Hormonal imbalances? Night terrors? Cancer? How much imagination would it take to make this a very long list. I’ve only gotten into beef issues that are directly killing us. We won’t discuss the fact that pigs are in the top 10 most intelligent animals on the planet. We won’t talk about chickens that are grown so big breasted that they fall over and die of heart attacks. What about the thousands of animals that the industry ADMITS die by freezing to death during transportation annually. If they admit that who knows the true number.

Harsh as all this sounds and not our usual enlightening fare here, it is part of the awakening we all must come to so I’m putting on the Big Sister pants and rolling with it. I had a leather jacket when I was young and when I put that on I felt like “somebody”. After watching video of a wolf who was stripped of his hide and with no skin left on his body he was looking around trying to figure out what happened, I felt like somebody else. I am ashamed, I was going to write what of but I can just stop at, I’m ashamed.     Use this web address if you’d like to see for yourself:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19eBAfUFK3E or see what this one has to say:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9qdPbmQZb0

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Can’t imagine our little furry friend being treated like I saw so many dogs treated!

I find myself repeatedly saying different versions of Ho’oponopono. For those of you who don’t know it, it is an ancient Hawaiian prayer that goes. . . I’m sorry. Please forgive me. Thank you. I love you.

To every animal on the planet and for all who’ve given their lives that we may learn, to every person on the planet who has been deceived, maybe by themselves as much as anyone else, I offer this prayer.

I’m sorry that I haven’t paid more attention to your plight. I’m sorry I haven’t given you the respect you deserve and been your voice when you had none. I’m sorry that your gifts have been squandered and unrecognized. Most of all I’m sorry for the suffering, the horror and the disrespect visited on your and yours in the name of greed and control.

Please forgive me for my ignorance, now I understand the statement, “Forgive them Father for they know not what they do”! Please forgive me for my attachment to what has been and my reluctance to give up those things that are habits and traditions even though they hurt everyone. Please forgive me for fearing what comes next and the isolation I may suffer for a time from those who disagree.

Thank you for giving your lives to our journey that we might see the darkness that exists in humanity when it is separated from the compassion of the heart. Thank you for being the vehicle to show us that that is unsustainable and is killing us all. Thank you for your service. I hereby release you from your service to me.

I love you as a part of myself. I love you for choosing to come here even though you would suffer so much. I love you for the light I see in your eyes through every set of eyes I’ve ever seen. I love you is not enough to pay for the service you have rendered so here I promise to be your voice, to spread compassion, to live differently so that my life won’t cost you yours, to the best of my ability.

I refuse to knowingly commit suicide~homicide any longer. I am awake and I will not go back to sleep. I take responsibility for what goes into my body and what comes out of word and deed. I love the All of us so very much, I pray that is enough for us to find our way to peace within and without.

This entry was posted in Women by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

One thought on “Not for the Faint of Heart

  1. Thank you for speaking up for our animal friends, Vicki. Most people aren’t aware of what goes on behind the scenes, seeing only the final packaging in the store. As more and more of us CHOOSE to look at where our food comes from, this too will change. Have faith ❤

Leave a Reply

