A Love Letter to My Children


It isn’t always about romantic love or roses and chocolates. In keeping with the theme of this past Valentine’s Day, I wanted to also write a love letter to my children, for whom I may sometimes nag and worry, but who are always the most amazing gifts I could have been granted in this lifetime.

I was just a young girl when I married your dad and dreamed of having children as a fufillment of the total picture in creating a family. I actually had no idea the level of commitment it would take to get you through not only the sleepless days and nights and colic, but the dramas of growing into fifth grade friendships and then later, in learning how to nurture your own adult relationships. In many ways we continue to grow up together and all told, I have nothing but respect and gratitude for the journey so far, as a whole.

In case I don’t tell you enough, please know today and always how much I love and treasure each one of you. Here is a small note of my love and gratitude for you.

My dearest son, I am so proud of the person you are turning out to be. You don’t always know which path to take, but you are taking the time to learn and grow and that is so much more important than being stagnant and feeling stuck. Keep learning and loving, it will serve you well.

I love the excitement with which you view the world. I love your optimism and how you look forward to all the possibilities that lie in your future.

I love that even though your brain is seemingly going at lightning speed, you remember now to slow down a little when we speak on the phone because I have a hard time comprehending when you talk so fast.

I love your passion for all things. I love your tenderness, even though you so often think you need to hide it. I love your innocence and vulnerability. Don’t be ashamed of the little boy you once were. In many ways, he will teach you how to be the better man you strive to be.

I look forward to watching you blossom and growing into a greater confidence and love for yourself.

My dear oldest daughter, I am so proud of the person you are growing up to be. Even when we don’t agree I see you listening to both sides and weighing out what feels best for you. That is huge progress! You don’t have to be a people pleaser all of the time.

You are learning so much as you are beginning to feel your way out in the world. Learn to trust your gut instincts and always love yourself as much or more than the person you decide to partner. You have an incredible amount of love and wisdom to share. It is exciting to wonder how you will choose to bring that into the world.

You are so much stronger than you give yourself credit for. Once you are able to dispel the fears your potential is truly unlimited. I truly believe you can do anything once you set your intention.

Everyone always says you are so much like me, but you are learning at a much faster rate than I ever imagined and you bring a self confidence I never possessed at your age. You are today who I wish I was at 19. In spite of your fears, you are more comfortable in your own skin than I am in mine, even today. Honor that.

You are a shining star. You just don’t fully realize that yet.

My darling baby girl, you can’t imagine what a gift you are to me. I am sorry I don’t always give you the attention you deserve. I sometimes get busy and lose track of where my priorities should be, but you are patient and forgiving and you wait for me to be ready to really hear you.

Your huge heart and tenderness make you wise beyond your years. You may sometimes struggle with conventional school work, but the expression of your gifts are more than can be measured in that framework. I absolutely marvel at your creativity and wonder. Your gifts of compassion are so beautiful and free flowing, it is no wonder you sense your angels by your side.

You are just beginning the exciting adventure of this lifetime. I feel so blessed and honored that I get to play a role in it all and support you from the sidelines. You are fully beautiful inside and out and the world is a more beautiful place because of your presence. Don’t underestimate the importance of the love you freely offer. It is the most beautiful gift anyone can offer at anytime.

I once prayed for the gift of motherhood and even though it certainly hasn’t always been easy, all three of you have taught me so much. Thank you so very much for coming into my life. Even if I don’t say it enough, you each are treasured more than you can imagine.

I love you always.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

I am a 43 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

 

2 thoughts on “A Love Letter to My Children

  1. Pingback: Me, My Wife, and the Other Guy « My Blog

Leave a Reply

