Valentine


The sound of a siren in the distance
February rain all day
Belfast Cold
I sit at my desk and write
A distant university in Chicago
Sometimes it feels so close

I think of you often
Of your smile
Your warmth
Your big lips and graceful hands
Your cornucopia cup over flowing love love love for me
A pure untainted love

Our most passionate fights have not tainted it
You surprise and delight me day after day
I am constantly amazed by your whole acceptance of all my shades
I want to stand beside you
Day after day, season after season, year after year,
Come what may

Looking out at a field at a city at our children
On a porch at dusk
In the heat of July
In the freeze of December
In all the places, anywhere and everywhere
Always. I love you on this grey Valentine.

Leave a Reply

