Enchanted Love


I would like to share a selection of quotations by one of my favourite authors and  spiritual leaders of our time, Marianne Williamson.

She has a new book out called ‘The Law of Divine Compensation’, which I can’t wait to read: http://www.marianne.com/book-divine.htm

Excerpt from book:

“As an expression of divine perfection, the universe is both self-organizing and self-correcting. To whatever extent your mind is aligned with love, you will receive divine compensation for any lack in your material existence. From spiritual substance will come material manifestation. This is not just a theory; it is a fact. It is a law by which the universe operates. I call it the Law of Divine Compensation.”

These quotes however, are from an old favourite of mine – ‘Enchanted Love’ One of several books that helped me see romantic love in a whole new light…….

“Our deepest human need is not material at all: Our deepest need is to be seen. We need adventure. We need meaning. We need identity. We need love. someone who has seen us through loving eyes has awakened us from the ranks of the psychically dead. Most people bear the terminal stress of walking the world unseen, a mere number or cog in a lifeless machine. Mystical romance is a space of resurrection and repair. It does more than help us survive a soulless world; it helps us to transform it.” page 26

“Love will push every button, try every faith, challenge every strength, trigger every weakness, mock every value, and then leave you there to die. But once you begin to turn the corner, to leave love’s bush league and enter the pros, there is no worldly activity that can match the joy of flying like an eagle through the skies of a lover’s heart.” page 27

“you and I both know that we have shadow sides. we have edges, my darling, and resistances to love. if we’re unevolved about this then we will hurt each other, we will only cause pain. these aspects of ourselves could ruin the relationship. let’s consider this before we embark. in fact we were brought together for healing purposes.

Please share with me, but try not to attack or judge me for these wounds I carry. and I will try my best to do the same for you. then holiness will be served here, and the relationship can deepen

Forgive me, if you can, and I vow to try to forgive you” page 31

“‘Do you think the planets call each other ‘darling’?’ you asked with a smile.

On some level, ‘ I said, ‘I think they do.” page 34

“Dear God,

I pray for the loves of my past,

those who chose me and those who did not.

I pray for their happiness,

their growth and their good.

May their hearts be filled with light

and their desires fully satisfied.

May they find what they are seeking,

although it could not be me.

Amen” page 37

” You know what I see in you? Not only the weakened, but also the strong. Not only the wounded, but also the healed. Not only the old, but also the new. Enter with me into a dazzling present, to be with me, now, who we have never allowed ourselves to be before” page 102

I sincerely urge you to float, fly and luxuriate in this book for a while, it is Magic and God/Goddess and Love.

photo by ellen burns

Photo by Ellen Burns

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a Doctor of Applied Theatre. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

Leave a Reply

