Loving our Mother


Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Rock Island Light Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Our human mothers get the credit for having birthed us but our essence comes from the elements of Mother Earth.

She is sorely overlooked, neglected and unappreciated at this time by many.

Not by me. Yes I live in this material world but I am constantly sending love to our Mother.

I live walking distance from Lake Ontario and just like a child compelled to visit home or a baby who comes to Mama for sustenance and reassurance I am drawn to visit the lake shore often, whatever the season.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

I feel like the lake is a mammary gland which welcomes me to drink my fill through my eyes, my skin and my heart. The wind runs its fingers through my hair, the waves keep rhythm and the birds lull me with song. I silently pay homage to the feminine of our Creator.

Mother has been there for us always. Supporting, feeding and comforting us. She asks nothing in return, just wants to offer us a cool drink, a spot of shade on a sunny hot day or a place out of the cold when the north wind blows.

She is often overlooked but she doesn’t complain, she loves us unconditionally and is going to the brink to allow her children to play as they wish. We are her offspring and we petulant teenagers disregard her needs as we struggle to break free from something that we cannot. Nor do we even want to if we’re honest.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Thank you Mother for all you have been and done and all you have offered to us. Your steadfast presence gives us reassurance and ease. Your green leaves and kaleidoscope of blossoms delight us and for those who pay attention, our hearts beat with yours. I pray that those who have been careless will come to understand your worth and that we are all in this together. In my vision this transition we are all going through together leads to a joyous result for us all. Be well and know that you are loved and felt more than we can express.      With greatest love,  Your humbled child.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 34 and 15 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 17 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 12 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

2 thoughts on “Loving our Mother

Leave a Reply

