Experiencing Sound Meditation


Ruins of the Trappist Monastery, St. Norbert. Manitoba - Photo Taken by Leah Schroeder

Ruins of the Trappist Monastery, St. Norbert. Manitoba – Photo Taken by Leah Schroeder

One of the women I met at a workshop I participated in recently, told me about an evening of meditation that happens weekly.  The group that runs it also organized the event I attended on December 21st, 2012, a beautiful, powerful experience, so I felt drawn to participate in a meditation.

On January 3rd, the first Thursday of a new year, I felt a strong pull to go to the meditation happening that evening.  I rushed home from work, quickly ate supper, and made my way to the south end of the city, and turned down the last street.  Beyond that street is a river and then farmland.

I drove along rue de Trappistes, past the houses to a wooded area, where I turned onto rue des Ruines du Monastère.  It was dark.  The road was covered in a light layer of snow.  The winding road followed the wooded area to my left.  As I made my way around the curve, the majestic ruins of the Trappist Monastery were lit up in the midst of this beautiful winter scene.  I have been there before, but never at this time of day, at this time of year.  It was a beautiful experience all on its own just to be in this place.

I entered into the old Art Centre building on site.  I made my way up the stairs to the 3rd floor, following a few others, who were there to participate in the meditation.  I walked through to the opposite end of the building, where I saw the person who told me about this place.  It made me feel at ease to see a familiar face.  It was interesting to me that we both felt drawn to be there that night.  Synchronicity is the word that comes to mind.

The space was warm and inviting.  Comfortable sofas and chairs, antique furniture and lamps, surrounded the room.  On tables, on three side of the room, were strategically placed large crystal bowls.  In the centre of the circle was a table with some candles, and to the side of that, an assortment of drums, there for anyone to use.

The meditation started with humming low tones, like a cat that’s purring, to connect with and open up our hearts.  We did this for a few minutes, and then all took a drum and started drumming the sound of a heartbeat.  At first the beating was all over the place.  After a short time, our drumming synchronized.  We were all connected as one heartbeat.

When the drumming stopped, we moved on to creating the sound of Om or aum.  I have heard this described as the sound of God.  This is a very powerful way to create a beautiful vibration through your entire body and opens you up to a powerful meditation experience.  I find that it is even more powerful when experienced with a group of people.

Next came the healing power of the Crystal Bowls.  They were played by a couple of people on either end of the room.  The bowls sang to each other, played off of each other and off a Gong that was on the south side of the room.  The energy vibration from their sound was so strong, I could feel it through every cell in my body, but strongest in my hands and my arms.  It was an incredibly powerful experience.

A recorded meditation followed.  It was the sound of a didgeridoo and some toning.  While I was meditating, it almost felt like there was a hand on my right shoulder.  I felt like I was being pulled into some kind of energy vortex.  The energy vibration resonating through my entire body intensified.  This feeling was most intense around my Third Eye and Crown Chakras.

When the meditation ended several people shared their experiences.  I was glad just to sit for a bit as I was still feeling the intensity of the energy through my body.  I would have to say this was one of the most powerful meditations I have ever experienced.

As I drove home that evening, I was very aware of this incredible feeling of joy resonating through my whole being.  I was smiling.  This was the perfect way to start out the New Year.  This sets the stage for a new beginning – a new way of being.  I share this with deep gratitude.  Namaste.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner and Certified ThetaHealer® www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and a Financial Representative. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working in Financial Services for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and now ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

One thought on “Experiencing Sound Meditation

Leave a Reply

