One last resolution…


New Year's Resolutions postcard

New Year’s Resolutions postcard (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Please enjoy this encore piece.

This may seem like an odd time to talk about New Year’s Resolutions, but I don’t believe there should just one specific time to resolve to be a better person.  With this said, I would like to share how I condensed all the things I wanted to change within myself and my life into just one word.

It happened when 2010 was approaching its final day. A friend of mine had asked, “What are your top three goals or resolutions for 2011?” I hadn’t bothered making New Year’s Resolutions for many years, but for some strange reason, I really wanted to answer his question.

I wish I could convey the speed at which my mind processed this one thought that contained so many ideas. There were so many things I wanted to change, but the challenge was to be able to cover them all in just three ways. The last few years I have been focusing on being a more positive person, so I wanted my resolutions to reflect that as well.

It took quite awhile, but I finally had my three resolutions worded just the way I wanted, and I realized that actually following these resolutions would completely change the kind of person I am. So, mostly because it will help me clarify it to myself, I would like to explain why I first chose these three statements to be my three New Year’s Resolutions.

  1. To love unconditionally,
  2. To obey the laws of Man and of God, and
  3. To love and appreciate the gifts God gives me.

My first resolution would free me from the expectations of other people’s behavior, eliminating so many negative emotions, such as anger and frustration. To love unconditionally would free me from being judgmental of another person, for any reason. The only requirement would be for me to first pay attention to my feelings before acting or reacting to any given situation, because my behavior is always preceded by a feeling. I can be successful as long as the motivation for any action or behavior comes from my heart and not my head.

The first half of my second resolution, “To obey the laws of Man”, would free me from dishonesty of any kind, and in any form, effectively eliminating the fear or dread that arises when I do something I know deep down is just plain wrong, even when it’s just going over the speed limit or telling a “little white lie”. American author, William Feather, has been quoted as saying, “If we don’t discipline ourselves, the world will do it for us”, and this quote was the original inspiration for this part.

The second half, “To obey the laws of God”, required me to actually reread the 10 Commandments, for I had not read them in almost 50 years. The first four concentrate mostly on the love of God. That part is simple enough for me. The last six actually have to do with how we treat each other. Since I believe we are all connected to God, the laws of God are truly just one; to love one another.

My third resolution, “To love and appreciate the gifts God gives me”, covers a multitude of resolutions in just a few words. Because there is so much involved within this resolution, remembering to keep an attitude of gratitude would definitely be required.

I consider my physical body, the environment surrounding my body, and the resources given to me to take care of them, as gifts from God. So, this resolution would require me to make better choices about the things I put in my body, the personal care products I use on my body, and the physical activities I participate in.

It also requires me to make more sensible choices when using any resources I earn, or may be given, which allow me to supply my body with food, clothing, and a safe environment to live in. Since I live on the planet earth, this includes much more than just a dwelling, but the entire environment of the planet.

At first, I was very pleased with my three resolutions, but after reading them again, I realized that they all have one thing in common: Love. If I just made “love” a resolution, would it be possible for me to be able to accomplish this during my lifetime? I believe the answer is yes.

So, here is the one last New Year’s Resolution I’ll ever need to achieve: Love. It really is just as simple as that.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

One thought on “One last resolution…

  1. Pingback: Getting To Know Me « My Pathetic Attempts At Love

Leave a Reply

