Autobiography in Five Short Chapters, by Portia Nelson


I walk down the street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I fall in.

I am lost….I am helpless.

It isn’t my fault.

It takes forever to find a way out.

ll

I walk down the same street.

there is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I pretend I don’t see it.

I fall in, again.

I can’t believe I am in this same place.

But, it isn’t my fault.

It still takes a long time to get out.

lll

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I see it is there.

I still fall in….it’s a habit…but,

My eyes are open.

I know where I am.

It’s my fault.

I get out immediately.

lV

I walk down the same street.

There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.

I walk around it.

V

I walk down another street.

road9

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 

Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a Doctor of Applied Theatre. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s-HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founding members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

2 thoughts on “Autobiography in Five Short Chapters, by Portia Nelson

Leave a Reply

