Personal Response Ability


Photo by Warren Kring

Photo by Warren Kring

I just read a piece on Yahoo about 2 men who were “zorbing” (had never heard of that til then), got off track and flew off a cliff in Russia, in snowy mountains. They are calling for stronger measures to protect tourists. What measures can be taken to protect us from ourselves?

Maybe I’m a little opinionated but it seems like a different choice could be made, other than strapping yourself into a plastic set of balls to go careening down a mountain. People come up with new and unusual ways to seek thrills every day. The whole thrill of it is that there is a chance you could die. With every beat of your heart, you could die. Life has been guaranteed that you will wear out your vehicle and have to leave it at some point. Sooner or later. Why not leave doing what you love and just accept it, or make a different choice?

Our world has been so saturated with images of larger, brighter, louder, better as if there’s no cost for that. Excitotoxins are introduced into our food sources (MSG, Aspartame just to name a couple) and even into the medicines that are supposed to help us recover from what’s been put in our food sources. They change the way our brains and our bodies respond. When we change our basic structure chemically it disconnects us from the natural wisdom that is available in the earth. The wisdom that helps me find a thrill in the unfolding of a blossom over the course of the day.

It seems like the loudest voices are screaming for changes to be legislated and bypassing entirely their own ability to make change. Women are objectified and conditioned to believe their outer appearance is paramount when their inner wisdom is the true value. With the “shift” going on it seems like people were sitting back to see what was going to happen, of course I myself was curious to see what that date in December would hold. Now its come and gone and from my view its clear. We have to MAKE the shift happen, consciously.

In our own hearts, its time to find our own value without expecting others to define that for us, or more to the point, allowing others to define us.

Its time to fill ourselves with all the love our hearts convey so that the world can enjoy the overflow. No more debate over whether the glass is half full or half empty. No question, its full, because “I filled my own cup this morning”, whatever that means to you. It can be as simple as noticing and responding to the fact that you’re thirsty or making sure there is something nourishing and uplifting for when you’re hungry. All the crap that is thrown at us from all directions is not necessary. We don’t have to carry it. We don’t have to subscribe to it. We don’t have to spend our attention on it, God knows it seems like every force in the universe is vying for our attention and there just isn’t enough to go around! But there can be plenty of attention to what serves us and on how we want to serve, as inmates in jail or children at play.

Forget about reading labels, they’re designed to deceive you. Carrots, apples, cabbage, they have no nutritional labels because their attributes are obvious. If you want to be whole in body mind and spirit, eat whole food. Very simple, whole food for a whole human. Not saying that’s what I do all the time, but I do put whole foods into my body every day and focus more and more on doing that.

When my brother had cancer 14yrs ago and I wanted to have a different personal response to it, I found Reiki and started to learn. When my brother hurt, I could ease his pain, when my family mourned his journey, I could provide a tool to ease their heart ache. It changed my response to the whole world progressively. Then almost 8 yrs. ago I found Young Living. I started choosing what essential oils I could use to address ailments with no ill effects in any way. That in turn changed my personal response to the world. I started looking for what information and insight I could gather to maintain my health and that of my family naturally instead of expecting a doctor to pull us out of the fire each time we ignored our well being.

I don’t claim to have the wisdom for anyone else’s path but I do have it for my own. Every step in the right direction, is a step in the right direction. Follow your joy, follow your heart, away from that which doesn’t uplift you and toward what does. Its that simple, if you change things by one choice today, you may find that in a year, many choices have been made in your favor. If you don’t start. Who will do it for you?

Legislation isn’t going to prevent grown men from sending themselves to their death but their own wisdom could. Mother Earth had it right the first time, the answers have always been there, why wait to embrace and incorporate them?  In nature, what cannot go on, ceases to exist. Many, many species have gone extinct and more will. We can be among them if we choose that. Or not.

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

