Do unto yourself…


Last year, one of my posts was about the Golden Rule: Do unto others
as you would have them do unto you. The problem is that sometimes we
don’t even know how to be nice to ourselves let alone other people.

We feel guilty when we don’t do something we think we should have
done, or if we do something we think we shouldn’t have done. We
believe either that we work too hard and don’t give ourselves time to
play, or that we play too much and don’t work hard enough. We compare
ourselves to other people, feeling either greater or lesser than
another person instead of equal in importance and relevance.

As the saying goes, we are often our worst critic.

I’ve learned that everything I do or don’t do has a purpose, even if
it’s just to learn a lesson the hard way. There are things I do that
may look imperfect, but in the long run they are perfect because I am
perfect.

 God made me, and God doesn’t make mistakes, so this year I resolve to:

Forgive myself,

Be gentle with myself,

Love myself,

Trust myself,

Understand myself, and

Be compassionate with myself.

Do unto yourself as you want others to do unto you, because if you
can’t be nice to yourself, why should anyone else?

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

4 thoughts on “Do unto yourself…

Leave a Reply

