The Importance of Why


I have been accused in the past of being nauseatingly cheerful. I do my best to take responsibility for the energy I bring to the space that I’m in, sometimes more successfully than others.

In focusing on being positive its easy to lose sight of why things need to change from the status quo we have gotten used to. I believe that if each person focuses on sharing the love in their heart that we will eventually live in the world that I believe we all long for.

If we continue with the systems that are currently in place with the conditioning that came with them it will be nearly impossible to change the grass roots of what we have become accustomed to and take for granted in this life.

A few days ago I happened to watch a documentary on Netflix called Vegucated. I grow my own little organic vegetable garden in the summer so I was curious what would be offered. I don’t think I will ever be the same.

I have seen glimpses here and there about the atrocities that are committed in slaughterhouses but never really focused on it because it is horrific to me. Our culture is to a great degree built around meat being a staple. Rainforests are stripped for grazing areas, production practices create more of a threat to global warming than vehicles with methane gas being a bigger threat than the CO2 that cars produce. I never considered those things.

With the escalation of atrocities that humans are perpetuating against each other it also highlighted another point I had never considered. When I saw the horror of the pigs as they saw one of their brethren fall to the floor twitching, and realized they were next, as I saw chickens with breasts so enlarged that they couldn’t stand, when I saw day old chicks that weren’t considered grade A by the inspectors, tossed into a grinder shoot to be ground alive for pet food, I could have puked! The overcrowded housing of chickens whether it is for eggs or meat is beyond disgusting. Hearing the screams of cows that are being branded with a hot iron, or being castrated with no anesthesia or baby pigs who literally have their testicles snatched off by hand directly after birth by a person is gut wrenching.

It is incomprehensible to me that this goes on at all and doubly so that I am one of the consumers that fuel this process and one of the people who has ignored it.

What glares the most for me is that as a healer and consultant for wellness I clearly see that this has a great deal to do with the underpinnings of the atrocities that are going on for each of us. Whether it is shootings of children, their own mothers drowning them, or the dissection of people’s bodies in the name of preventing disease or cancer treatments with radiation and chemicals, we can all agree there needs to be a bedrock change right?

Before mass production farms were family run, the chickens were free range and chose their own diet rather than being fed dead food. Cows went out to pasture and if they were put in a barn, had ample space, they grazed on grasses and were cared for, even named. Pigs are one of the top 10 most intelligent animals on the planet (I’m wondering right now if humans are on that list as well), remember Charlotte’s Web? How our food was produced as little as 100 yrs ago was totally different from how it is today.

There is no love, no compassion, no responsibility in how our food is produced. Anything Mom cooks for you is automatically better even if someone side by side produced the exact thing, love is an ingredient, respect is an ingredient. If I pick broccoli from my garden my son will fight me for it and sneak it off my plate if he has a chance. I served store bought broccoli the other day and once he realized it he threw the rest in the trash. These discerning minds need live food to fuel their magnificence and they aren’t getting it from GMO, processed, pasteurized and in other words dead food. The Bible says “Life begets life” and it is universally true, yet we are killing ourselves and losing our humanity by consuming stress and death.

Understanding basics about biology helps me understand that those animals that are unnaturally confined, fed what is not natural to them, medicated, forced to be pregnant perpetually and tortured are killed for meat that is filled with stress hormones and chemical remains. We consume this meat and take on their stress and fear. Vegetables and fruits that are produced with pesticides and are genetically altered lose their own natural properties and the synergy of the elements that would otherwise come together and create beauty and grace that we would take on in the consuming of them. We have pets that are taking on the same illnesses as their owners because they are consuming corn that is indigestible and ground up live baby chicks among other things you don’t even want to know about.

We’ve turned to medicine, asking something that we have no deficiency in,to save us from ourselves and the things that we have allowed by ignoring them. We came into a Garden of Eden and it has systematically been turned into a hell where we are presented daily with examples of how love is absent. Legislation will not protect us. Fear will not protect us. Judgement will not protect us. Love will protect us. Loving this planet and all its contents will protect us. Looking into the shadows of our behavior with honesty will help us see what the importance is of why we need to change, personally and globally. Examining our own practices, self educating about the alternatives and moving forward in a loving direction can change the course of the planet as a whole and it has already begun.

For myself, I’m considering committing my entire lawn front and back to vegetables this  year and/or sharing garden space with a friend who has more space than she can manage. I will have less and less meat in my diet unless it has been naturally produced. I will buy eggs solely from a local farm where the chickens are free range friends. I will share more and care more and not shy away from speaking my truth whether its bright and shiny or not. I will use my wallet as a tool of change. I will hold the words of Mother Theresa in my heart. . . “I see Jesus Christ every day in all his distressing disguises.”

May we all have the love and compassion to look into the shadows of our humanity and embrace the importance of why, and then make the changes our hearts lead us to, each day.

May we find the courage to look beneath the surface. Photo by Vicki Willoughby

May we find the courage to look beneath the surface. Photo by Vicki Willoughby

And for the men and the women who love them, check out this page and watch the video for a lighter side of excluding meat from your life. I had to laugh!!!!  http://www.howaboutwe.com/date-report/petas-boyfriend-went-vegan-campaign/

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Why

  1. Vicki, this is exactly why I recently returned to vegetarianism, and am edging towards veganism – I still eat butter – but only organic. I no longer drink diary milk – rather coconut or almond milk, I cannot eat eggs anymore, the very thought of it turns my stomach. Somehow on a cellular level, my body has become awakened to this slaughter and violence and despicable atrocity and I just can’t do it anymore. I respect those who still chose to eat meat that has been bred and slaughtered with integrity and care. But I can’t do it anymore. Heading towards a plant based diet, I feel, is the way forward for our evolution. Thank you for articulating how I have been feeling for a while.

  2. Thank you Ellen, and your welcome. Did you watch the video after the photo? Once you look at the darker side, the lighter side helps embrace new ideas! I had to laugh!

  3. There is nothing more I could ever add to this, other than agreeing whole heartily that we MUST use our wallets as a tool. Nothing we say or do will change anything other than hitting them where it counts. For them, it’s the bottom line. Our power is simply purchasing power. If we don’t buy it, they must make the changes we want…or their business dies. Together we will prevail. ❤

  4. Women who want to claim their power need look no further than their purse! Deep pockets already disregard laws entirely so more are of no use.

Leave a Reply

